RANGELEY — Voters elected James Carignan and Shelly Lowell on Tuesday in a three-way race to serve as selectmen for the next three years.

Lowell received 207 votes; Carignan, 147; and Donald Nuttal, 136 votes.

Elected to serve three-year terms on the Park Commission were James Jannace, 194 votes; and Kash Haley, 191 votes. Incumbent Linda Henderson lost her bid for re-election with 98 votes.

Lindsey Savage received 222 votes for a two-year term on the Park Commission. 

Regional School Unit 78 Director Elizabeth Eastlack was re-elected for another three-year term with 231 votes. Richard Walker was elected with 61 votes to serve a three-year term, and Joann Chapman was elected to serve a two-year term with 65 votes. Walker and Chapman were write-in candidates.     

Matthew Holbrook was elected to serve a three-year term on the Sewer Commission with six votes. Jonathan Adkins and Brian Roy tied with four votes each for one, two-year term on the commission. All three are write-in candidates.


Ethan Shaffer received 251 votes for a two-year term on the commission.

Elected to serve three-year terms on the Rangeley Water District board of trustees were Christopher Farmer and Thomas Haggan. 

Keith Savage was elected to serve a one-year term as a trustee.

Voters will take up 48 articles at the annual town meeting at 6 p.m. on Thursday, June 16, at Rangeley Lakes Regional School.

The proposed 2016-17 town budget, not factoring in the school assessment or county tax, is proposed at $3.89 million a decrease of $74,752 or 1.88 percent less than the current budget.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.