Two-time Late Model champion Dennis Spencer Jr. (1999, 2000) became the tenth different winner in as many races when he claimed the 50-lap Applebee’s Trophy Dash for Super Late Models Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.

The savvy veteran from Oxford outgunned visitors Mike Fowler and Derek Griffith for top honors, while Trevor Sanborn finished fourth in his new ride at Benjamin Motorsports. Hebron veteran Alan Wilson completed the top five. 

Fowler, of Scarborough, is a regular with strong skills at Beech Ridge, while Griffith, of Hudson, N.H., was the 2015 Granite State Pro Stock Series champion. Both drivers were getting tuned up for Sunday night’s PASS non-winners race. 

“The car was the best it has been all year,” Spencer said. “I knew it was going to be tough to beat Mike, Derek and Trevor, who were all on four new tires. When Fowler got by me and didn’t drive away, I knew I had to keep the pressure on him. I tried the outside, but lapped traffic was getting in the way.  

“With four laps to go, Mickey (Green, his crew chief) told me if I had anything left, now was the time to go. I saw Mike get loose, and knew if I could get up to his right rear,  I could get a run on him. It was a great feeling to win after my team has worked so hard all year.”   

Finishing sixth through tenth in the SLM feature were Scott Robbins, two-time champion TJ Brackett (2013-14), Scott Moore, Shawn Knight and Gunnar Rowe. 


Turner’s Matt Dufault earned his second consecutive victory in Street Stock action, his third win of 2016. Former Oxford standout Kim Tripp made a strong return to competition in second, while two-time winner Calvin Rose Jr. of Turner came home third.

Mike McKinney earned his first career feature victory in the entry-level Bandit class. Tyler Green, who’s been fast nearly every time out this season, powered his way to second, while Chachy Hall was rock-solid in third.

Maine Motorsports Hall of Famer Jon Lizotte of Lewiston pulled off another win in Figure 8 action, with fellow veteran David Smith of Paris second and Kyle Kilgore third. Other feature wins on Saturday include Austin Teras (Legends); John Childs (Cruisers); Mark Grantham (Trucks); Gary Babineau (Outlaws); Shelby Shurtleff (Ladies); and Rick Montminy (Rebels).

It was a busy night of racing (10 classes in action) at Oxford since officials elected to add the rained-out Wednesday night Acceleration program to an already-packed card of Championship Series action.

Saunders prevails in Pro Stock at Wiscasset

Ellsworth veteran Andy Saunders drove to victory in an entertaining 40-lap trophy dash for Pro Stock teams on Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway. Rising star Wyatt Alexander, also from Ellsworth and already a winner at the mid-coast speed plant in 2016, settled for second after a disappointing finish the previous week in PASS North action at Lee, while Nate Tribbett filled out the podium in third.


Hometown favorite James Osmond of Wiscasset finished fourth, while Ajay Picard of Palmyra rounded out the top five.

Kamren Knowles held off RJ Pinkham in a 50-lap Spotlight feature for the New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock warriors. Canton’s Spencer Vaughn powered his way to third at the stripe, while Conner Wenners and Bob Patten finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Michael Golding earned top honors in a 20-lap battle for Thunder 4 Mini teams. Michael Harrison made a one-two finish for Pownal-based drivers, while Lisbon’s Joe Katula wheeled his way to third. Jeff Davis of Woolwich (fourth) and Richmond’s Curtis Anderson (fifth) also ran strong on Saturday.

Cody Buzzell prevailed in a wild 25-lap tilt for the Super Street division. The Madison native held off hometown favorite Josh Bailey for top honors, while Harpswell veteran Mark Lucas filled out the podium in third. Jason Curtis (Hollis) and rising star Tasha Dyer of Arrowsic completed the top five.

Doiron goes back-to-back at Beech Ridge

Joey Doiron started thirteenth on the 19-car grid, worked his way past three early leaders in the final five laps and went on to claim his second straight victory in a hotly-contested 50-lap Pro Series battle Saturday evening at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway. 


The 22-year-old from Berwick was fresh off a win in the previous week’s 125-lap contest at the historic Scarborough oval.  

Jay native and 2014 class champion Dave Farrington Jr. finished less than a second back in the runner-up position, while Corey Bubar was back in his own ride (after allowing his father to run the 125 in it the previous week) and came home third. Robbie Harrison continued his recent hot streak and earned a fourth-place finish, while veteran Curtis Gerry powered his way to fifth in the holiday weekend event.

Windham’s Clyde Hennessey returned to Sport Series Victory Lane after winning the 125-lap tilt two weeks ago. Tom Bennett made it a one-two sweep for Windham-based drivers, while Dave Langlais of Springvale filled out the podium in third. Sally Gherardi put in a solid effort to secure fourth, with Mike St. Pierre of Buxton rounding out the top five.

Brian Caswell powered his way to victory in a thrilling 30-lap tilt for the Wildcat division. The Waterboro native held off Alfred’s Adam Lovejoy at the stripe, while South Portland’s Curtis Gleason nailed down a third-place finish. Beech Ridge legend Cole Watson (Naples) and recent winner Chaz Briggs (Westbrook) completed the top five. 

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.