PERU — Natalie Sneller and Kim Dailey explained to residents Tuesday night the costs and implications of Canton, Carthage, Peru and Dixfield forming their own school district.

The four towns had formed School Administrative District 21, but merged with Regional School Unit 10 in 2011 under the mandated school consolidation law. A plan to leave RSU 10 has been approved by the state. The plan was prompted by residents’ belief that it would save money.

RSU 10 also includes Buckfield, Byron, Hanover, Hartford, Mexico, Roxbury Rumford and Sumner.

Among the concerns of the presenters was the possible repair costs for some school buildings.

“As of today, something needs to be done to address those buildings that need work,” Sneller said.

“The Mountain Valley region has four buildings in dire need of repair,” Dailey said.


Also of concern is the geographic size of RSU 10, which sometimes results in long bus rides for students.

If a majority in each of the four towns approve the withdrawal at the polls Nov. 8, it would go into effect on July 1, 2017.

Dailey said approximately $12.5 million of this year’s $37 million RSU 10 budget pays for operating the Dixfield and Peru schools.

Other informational sessions are scheduled for Oct. 11 at the Canton Town Office, Oct. 13 at Dirigo Elementary School in Peru, Oct. 17 at the former
schoolhouse in Carthage and Oct. 18 at Dirigo High School. All begin at 6 p.m. 

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: