DIXFIELD — The school Withdrawal Committee for Canton, Carthage, Dixfield and Peru were advised Tuesday night of the steps to establish their own school district in 2017.

Attorney Kristin Collins of the Preti Flaherty law firm in Augusta spoke about electing a school board, searching for a superintendent and what deadlines loom.

She congratulated committee member Kim Dailey of Carthage on being chosen as election secretary for the four towns. His job will be to make sure the towns have the right documents and nomination papers for elections of school board members, Collins said.

“We’re looking at an election date of Jan. 24,” she said.

Five school board representatives from Dixfield, three from Peru and two each from Canton and Carthage will be needed. Terms can be one, two and three years. 

Nomination papers should be made available at town offices on Wednesday, Nov. 23, with a filing deadline of Dec. 9. Papers must have 25 signatures.

A superintendent search also needs to be in place three weeks before the first school department meeting, Collins said. A business manager and technology person are also needed.

An informal voluntary transition team was set up from the withdrawal committee members. Dana Whittemore of Dixfield volunteered to lead the team.

On Nov. 8, voters in the four towns chose to withdraw from Regional School Unit 10, believing it would give them local control and save money.

Other RSU 10 towns are Hanover, Buckfield, Sumner, Hartford, Byron, Mexico, Roxbury and Rumford. 

The withdrawal will take effect June 30, 2017, and the new district starts July 1, 2017.

The next Withdrawal Committee meeting is at 6 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 15, at 6 p.m. at Dirigo High School.

[email protected]

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.