Several upperclassmen with varsity experience return, but Lewiston’s season might hinge on how well a group of incoming freshmen performs.

The combination might not be as volatile as it sounds. Third-year head coach Lynn Girouard said the first-year players already have a lot of basketball experience, and that they performed well in their first preseason.

“They are definitely making some freshman mistakes, but that’s to be expected; as long as they make up for it on the defensive end, which they do,” Girouard said.

Senior Morgan Eliasen leads the group of returning players, along with junior Victoria Harris and senior Skylar Guadette. Maddy Foster, Hannah Chaput and Cece Racine highlight the group of incoming freshman.

The Blue Devils lost point guard Kristina Blais to graduation (she now plays at CMCC). Rather than one player stepping up to take over that role, Girouard said that there are several ball-handlers who can get the ball and go. That complements the squad’s quickness and depth and jibes with Girouard’s style of coaching.

“We run the floor pretty well, we can shoot the ball pretty well,” Girouard said. “We have somewhat of a deep bench, so we can constantly put some fresh legs in there.”


Despite being bumped up to the new AA classification last season, the Devils managed to increase their win total by seven games (they finished 10-10). They also advanced to the AA North semifinals, which was a notable step in the direction of progress.

“Last year’s team was one of our best seasons that we’ve had in a while,” Girouard said. “Making it to playoffs and winning an actual playoff game is big. We hope to build on that.”

Coach: Lynn Girouard (third year)

Conference: KVAC; Class: AA North

Last year’s results: 10-10 (lost in Class AA North semifinals)

Returning athletes: Seniors — Morgan Eliasen, Dacia Bail, Skylar Gaudette, Kasey Talarico, Faith Cook, Jazy Dumas; Juniors — Victoria Harris, Gabby Wilson.

Key losses: Kristina Blais, Alasia Branche.

Promising newcomers: Junior — Megan Theriault; Freshmen — Maddy Foster, Hannah Chaput, Cece Racine, Jordyn Rubin, Laila Bunnit.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.