DIXFIELD — Bryce Whittemore of Dixfield, a senior at Dirigo High School, has been selected to receive the 2017 Principal’s Award, announced Principal Michael Poulin today. The award, sponsored by the Maine Principals’ Association, is given in recognition of a high school senior’s academic achievement and citizenship.

“It gives me great pleasure to present Bryce with the 2017 Principal’s Award. During his time here at Dirigo High School, Bryce has distinguished himself as an outstanding student and school citizen, and an exceptional student leader. He is very deserving of this recognition.”

Bryce and other award winners attended an Honors Luncheon at the Spectacular Event Center in Bangor on Saturday, April 8, where he was presented with his award.

The Honors Luncheon recognizes these outstanding students with the presentation of an individual plaque and the awarding of five $1,000 scholarships in the names of Horace O. McGowan and Richard W. Tyler. Mr. McGowan and Mr. Tyler were former Maine principals and executive directors of the Association. An additional five $1,000 scholarships will be presented through the efforts of the MPA Scholarship Golf Tournament.

The Principal’s Award is presented in more than 100 Maine public and private high schools by member principals of the MPA, the professional association which represents Maine’s school administrators.

Dirigo High School Principal Michael Poulin awards senior Bryce Whittemore of Dixfield the MPA Principal’s Award. 

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.