PORTLAND — The Maine Sports Hall of Fame has announced its 2017 Class of Scholar Athletes, and the four high school teams selected to receive A Better Maine through Sport Award at the annual induction ceremony, at 2 p.m. Sunday, May 21, at Merrill Auditorium.

Six Maine high school seniors will receive a $5,000 scholarship for their outstanding achievements in sport and in the classroom: Katherine Butler, Bangor High School; Adelaide Cooke, Falmouth High School; Shammah Gahomera, Westbrook High School; Katherine Leggat-Barr, Greely High School; Jake Martel, Noble High School; and Bailey Plourde, Lincoln Academy.

Four teams will be honored with the “A Better Maine Through Sport” Award: Cheverus High School Boys Swim, five-time Class A State Champions; Lisbon High School Unified Basketball, 2017 State Champions; Portland High School Boys Basketball, two-time Class AA State Champions; and Waterville High School Boys Ice Hockey, 2017 Class B State Champions.

The scholar-athletes and teams will share the stage with a special 2017 inductee class: Bob Bahre, auto racing; Angela Bancroft, Ironman Competition; Leslie Bancroft, Nordic skiing; Brett Brown, basketball; Dan Burke, baseball; Dick Capp, football; Ian Crocker, swimming; Norm Gagne, hockey; Glen, Jay and Kyle Hutchins, soccer; Tom Reynolds, skiing; Sarah Marshall Ryan, basketball; and Anna Willard, track and field.

Fmi, tickets: www.mshof.com, 207-272-2178.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.