BETHEL — The Oxford County Republicans announced the recipient of the 2017 Oxford County Young Republican Scholarship and elected officers during its May 9 meeting in Bethel. 

The recipient of the scholarship is Megan E. Linfield of Norway. 

Linfield came with her family, including parents, John and Leslie Linfield; her paternal grandparents, Charles and Diane Linfield; and her sister Morgan. Linfield’s brother, Harry, was unable to attend. 

Linfield is a senior at Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School and is planning on attending Southern Maine Community College, majoring in Cyber Security and Computer Science. 

Linfield was just one of many applying for this award, the sole politically-oriented scholarship given out by a county organization in the state of Maine.

The Oxford County Republicans elected Joe Martin of Rumford to the position of Chairman; Fran Head of Bethel as Northern Region vice Chair; Tom Curtis of Norway as Central Region vice Chair; Robin Ellingwood of Norway as Southern Region vice Chair; Tim Turner of Buckfield was elected to the dual positions of Secretary/Communications Director; Tom Winsor of Norway was elected as Treasurer; and Abigail Bennett was elected to the position of MaineGOP representative to the Maine Republican Platform Committee. 

The recipient of the 2017 Oxford County Young Republican Scholarship is Megan E. Linfield, right, of Norway. Tom Curtis, right, chairman of the Scholarship Committee, presents Linfield with the $500 scholarship during the May 9 meeting in Bethel. 

Comments are no longer available on this story