They’re creative, they’re entrepreneurial. They’re teachers, they’re leaders and they are all calling here home.

The new class of Uplift LA’s 40 Under 40 honorees includes a diverse group of local professionals all being honored at a dinner at the Agora Grand Event Center this Friday, June 9.

Today, we introduce you to 10 of them, what they do and why they’re here. 

The 40 honorees

The full list of Uplift LA’s 2017 40 Under 40 honorees:

Building L-A: Michael Malloy, the Malloy Firm; Molly McGill, The Brand Collective; Misty Parker, city of Lewiston; Tricia Tomlinson, Ben’s Burritos.

Creative geniuses: Thomas Ardia, Marche; Danielle Eaton, Spectrum Medical Group; Marlo Hewitt, Hair Salon; Alexandra Hood, Bates College.


Economic development: Nick Benoit, Benoit’s Orchard; Shanna Cox, Project Tipping Point; Travis Dow, Dow Media LLC; Gabrielle Russell, Platz Associates.

Education: Heidi Bisson, Kaplan University; Abby Dix, Farwell Elementary School; Jake Langlais, Lewiston Middle School; Alli Nolan, Tree Street Youth.

Emerging leaders: Terri Cook, Mechanics Savings Bank; Jake Daniels, U.S. Cellular; Julia Harper, Baxter Brewing; Matthew Shaw, Community Credit Union.

Entrepreneurs: Ashley Alexander, Blush Beauty Boutique; Elizabeth Cyr, Blush Beauty Boutique; Christine Laliberte, The Beauty Bar; Zack Pratt, boba.

Health and wellness: Katie Boss, Healthy Androscoggin; Erin Guay, Healthy Androscoggin; Megan Skilling, YMCA; Tyler Tyburski, Community Health Options.

Local government and civic leaders: Jennifer Hogan, Community Credit Union; Adam Lee, Trafton, Matzen, Belleau & Frenette LLP; Joseph Philippon, Lewiston Police Department; Heidi Sawyer, Manpower.

Local heroes: Jenna Rae Brown, Gritty’s L/A Brew Pub; Megan Guynes, Tree Street Youth; Nathan Libby, Maine state Senate; Sasha Vurnakes, Sasha Lee’s Romance Boutique.

Volunteers: Amanda Fitts, Sapphire Nightclub and Event Center; Melanie Lamore Gagnon, Safe Voices; Matthew Poulin, Mechanics Savings Bank; Karen Staples, congressman Bruce Poliquin’s office.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.