OXFORD — Dennis Spencer Jr. earned his second Super Late Model victory of the season, while Alan Tardiff prevailed in a points tiebreaker to claim his first premier-class championship Saturday night at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Spencer, of Oxford, started 11th on the 18-car grid. The two-time Oxford Late Model champion (1999-2000) took the lead from Scarborough veteran Kelly Moore at lap 25 and held off SLM rookie Ryan Robbins of Dixfield to earn the win.

Tardiff, of Lyman, started 12th and raced to a third-place finish, eight points behind two-time track champion TJ Brackett, of Buckfield, who finished seventh. Those finishes created a tie, and both drivers earned two feature wins in 2017.

Tardiff won the title by virtue of having earned one more runner-up finish (three to two) than Brackett during a 20-race campaign that saw 13 different winners in the top division. 

“This has been an incredible season,” Tardiff said. “We knew when we came up here this year it would be tough, and the Bracketts rule the roost. Our car was fast every week, my team worked hard all season, and we pulled off a title. I’m happy beyond words but appreciate all my family, car owners and partners do for me.” 

Moore led the first 24 laps and crossed the stripe in fourth, while Ellsworth’s Andy Saunders finished fifth. Finishing sixth through 10th in the season’s final Super Late Model feature were Ryan Deane, TJ Brackett, Tim Brackett, Alan Wilson and Minot veteran Bruce Haley.

Billy Childs Jr., of Leeds, won his seventh Street Stock feature of the year to lock up the class championship. Norway’s Jordan Russell led the first 14 laps and finished second, while Rick Spaulding, of Lisbon, earned a third-place finish. Livermore’s Tyler King edged Poland’s David Whittier for fourth at the line.

Defending champion Jamie Heath drove to victory in a 20-lap Bandit finale. Turner’s Tyler Green, Chad Wills, of Oxford, Auburn’s Tyler Libby and Dean Jordan, of Jay, rounded out the top five.

Auburn’s Brandon Varney prevailed in a tight Bandit division points battle despite a 13th-place finish.

Eric Hodgkins of Winthrop won the 15-lap Figure 8 feature, yet runner-up Tommy Tompkins of Carthage earned the class title with a runner-up finish. Third-place finisher Kyle Kilgore finished second in Figure 8 points.

Buckfield veteran Gerry Freve outran Lewiston’s Guy Childs to claim victory in the 25-lap Outlaw division finale. Richard Mains of Naples, at 51, the youngest on the podium, was chased across the line by Steve Moon and Caleb Emerson-Mains.

Ron Moon, of North Yarmouth, claimed the Outlaw Division Championship.

John Childs of Leeds outran his son Cam to claim victory in the 20-lap Rebel feature. Varney (doing triple duty) barely prevented a Childs family sweep with a third-place run. Auburn’s Cody Childs locked up the Rebel class championship, wisely accepting a solid fourth-place finish ahead of Oxford’s Doug Degroat.

Varney, of Auburn, raced to a second consecutive win in the 20-lap Cruiser feature. Oxford’s Phil Knowlton notched his first class title with runner-up honors. Aubun’s John Poulin, Paul Rowe, of South Paris and Will Dunphy Jr. of New Gloucester completed the top five.

Danny Wear of Buxton won the final Sport Truck feature while Oxford’s Ryan Farrar earned the championship with a runner-up finish. Mark Grantham, of Casco, filled out the podium in third. Nick Calvert of Steep Falls and New Gloucester’s Chuck Estes finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Auburn’s Maggie Ferland earned the Ladies’ division title with a win in the final feature of 2017. Fellow Auburn resident and friendly rival Kathryn Childs finished a strong second, enough to earn third in the overall points tally. Shelby Shurtleff finished third on Saturday and wound up second in points.

Jake Matheson, of Hillsboro, New Hampshire, got past point leader Austin Teras of Windham on his way to victory on the 20-lap Legends feature. Trenton Goodrow of Carver, Mass., filled out the poduium in third. Buxton’s Colby Meserve and Thomas Everson rounded out the top five.

Melcher locks up title at Wiscasset

Jay native Logan Melcher has enjoyed a dream season at Wiscasset Speedway in 2017. The second generation racer clinched the Thunder 4 Mini class championship on Saturday with his sixth victory of the season.

Noah Haggett (Wiscasset) finished second, while Brunswick’s David Greenleaf was third.

Wiscasset rules call for a mandatory engine inspection when any driver earns three wins in a season, so Daren Ripley now awaits word if his apparent Pro Stock victory on Saturday will stand.

Ajay Picard, of Palmyra, crossed the stripe in second, while former Oxford 250 winner Jeremie Whorff was third.

Mike Hodgkins claimed his first career win in the 25-lap Super Street battle. The Jefferson native held off Wiscasset’s Zac Poland for top honors, while Sean Johnson settled for third. Barry Poulin (Benton) and Michael Harrison (Durham) finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Other winners at Wiscasset Saturday include Connor Wenners, who won the N.E. 4-Cyl. Pro feature. 

[email protected] 



Two-time Oxford Plains Speedway Late Model champion (1999-200) Dennis Spencer Jr. powers off Turn 4 at Oxford Plains Speedway during practice on Saturday, Sept. 9. Spencer won the final Super Late Model feature of 2017.