VASSALBORO — Maine’s 52 newest police officers graduated from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy on Friday. The officers spent 18 weeks in study and training and most will begin patrolling immediately, in time for Christmas and New Year’s Eve enforcement efforts.

Cumberland County Sheriff Kevin Joyce was the guest speaker who told the new officers that law enforcement is an honorable profession, according to a statement from Department of Public Safety spokesman Stephen McCausland.

“You’ll see the best and the worst of people in your career, and each one of you will have a hand in making your communities safer than yesterday,” Joyce said.

The new officers studied many topics, including crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

Among the graduates were eight Maine State Police trooper recruits and Maine marine wardens, who will continue training with their departments before patrolling on their own.

Graduates were:

Jenna M. Anzengruber, Bangor police; Tyler A. Barnies, Auburn police; Brandon G. Barragan, Cumberland County Sheriff’s Office; Shaunna C. Beaudoin, Maine State Police; Joshua N. Bernier, Brunswick police; Ryan J. Brochu, UMO police; Drew I. Bunick, USM police; Alonzo, J. Connor,  Maine State Police; Jasmine M. Cyr, Houlton police; Brittany E. Davies, Maine State Police; Eric S. Depner, Caribou police; Christopher J. Dickens, Bar Harbor police; Travis R. Doughty, Maine State Police; Marcus W. Downes, Old Town police; Codie E. Dube, Biddeford police; Kyle P. Forbes, Portland police; Kyle P. Franklin, Maine Warden Service; Paul P. Gauvin, Saco police; Jacob J. Gibbs, Portland police; Colin A. Gordan, Falmouth Police; Jeffrey W. Hall, Ellsworth police; Benjamin S. Handzel, Maine State Police; Alex P.  Hebert, Maine Marine Patrol; Ryan D. Jackson, Waldo County Sheriff’s Office; Seth A. Johnson, Augusta police; Tyler D. Johnston, Bangor police; Isaiah C. Jones, Scarborough police; Michael J. Kennedy, Newport police; Jeffrey A. Kinney, Bangor police; Gregory A. Mailhot, Sabattus police; Gabrielle M. Mathieu, Topsham police; Garrett D. McCarthy, Westbrook police; Elizabeth K. McPhillips, Old Orchard Beach Police Department; Chelsea M.  Merry, Somerset County Sheriff’s Office; David P. Morin, Auburn police; Daniel O. Morrison, Old Orchard Beach Police Department; Bethany S. Nyberg, Brunswick police; Erik T. Rae, Sanford police; Amanda S. Roggio, Gardiner police; Rodney D. Rossignol, Saco police; Lydia M. Ruetty,  Scarborough police; Alisha N. Smith, Gorham police; Douglas R. Snyder, Boothbay Harbor police; Christopher C. Taylor, Rockport police; Kim J. Theriault, South Portland police; Jonathan E. Varnum, Maine Marine Patrol; Anthony J. Verville, South Portland police; Tifani P.V. Warren,  Skowhegan police; Nicholas J. Wrigley, Westbrook police; Kenneth A. York, Penobscot County Sheriff’s Office; Eric R. Young, South Portland police; and Andrew F. Zambella, Maine State Police.

The Maine Criminal Justice Academy graduated 52 new police officers Friday during a ceremony at the academy in Vassalboro.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: