North Yarmouth native Ben True crosses the finish line to win the men’s division of the 19th annual TD Beach To Beacon 10K road race in Aug. 2016 in Cape Elizabeth. (AP file photo)

Ben True, who became the first American runner to win the TD Beach to Beacon in 2016 and finished second in 2017, will return to the race this year.

True, a North Yarmouth native and Greely High graduate, leads the men’s elite field for the Aug. 4 race, which was announced by race officials Monday.

Molly Huddle, the American record-holder in the 10K, leads the women’s field in her Beach to Beacon debut. The women’s field also includes U.S. Olympic gold medal triathlete Gwen Jorgenson, who recently retired from triathlons to focus on the marathon. Caroline Chepkoech, who finished third in the 2016 race, will be among the favorites.

True is joined in the men’s field by two-time Olympian Lopez Lomong, 2012 Beach to Beacon winner Stanley Biwott, and Jake Roberts, who set the New Zealand record in the marathon earlier this year.

Reigning champions Stephen Kosgei Kibet and course record-holder Mary Keitany, will not return to defend their titles.


2018 Beach to Beacon

Elite Athlete Fields

As of Monday


Stanley Biwott, Kenya

Ben True, USA


Maxwell Rotich, Kenya

Jake Robertson, New Zealand

Stephen Sambu, Kenya

Tariku Bekele, Ethiopia

Amdework Walelgen, Ethiopia

Chris Derrick, USA


Callum Hawkins, United Kingdom

Ross Millington, United Kingdom

Abdi Abdirahman, USA

Shadrack Biwott, USA

Lopez Lomong, USA

Andrew Bumbulough, USA


Noah Droddy, USA

Matt Llano, USA

Parker Stinson, USA

Trevor Dunbar, USA

Colin Bennie, USA

Mason Ferlic, USA


Luke Puskedra, USA

Dillon Maggard, USA

Martin Hehir, USA


Caroline Chepkoech Kipkirui, Kenya

Molly Huddle, USA


Sandrafelis Chebet Tuei, Kenya

Buze Diriba, Ethiopia

Ababel Yeshaneh, Ethiopia

Pauline Kamulu Kaveke, Kenya

Gwen Jorgensen, USA

Diane Nukuri, USA


Milly Clark, Australia

Laura Rose Donegan, Australia

Emily Sisson, USA

Jessica Tonn, USA

Rochelle Kanuho, USA

Liz Costello, USA


Alia Gray, USA

Emily Durgin, USA

Katie Matthews, USA

Ayano Kubo, Japan

Sayo Nomura, Japan

Rachel Hyland, USA

Kaitlin Gregg Goodman, USA

Annika Pfitzinger, New Zealand

Sydney Devore, USA

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.