OXFORD — He knew the long trips to western Maine would pay off in time. What he didn’t realize was how far into the season it would be before those dividends would become available.

Ryan Deane chased down and passed one of southern Maine’s most respected racers before pulling away to claim the 50-lap Super Late Model Trophy Dash on Saturday at Oxford Plains Speedway.

It was the Winterport native’s first career victory on the famed oval George Damon opened in 1950, and it came in a high-speed, caution-free affair.

Deane started fifth on the 18-car grid and drove around the outside of early leader Dan McKeage just before halfway. Deane also drove around point leader Gabe Brown and four-time champion Tim Brackett on his way to Victory Lane.

McKeage, of Gorham, making a rare Saturday night appearance at Oxford since Beech Ridge was rained out, settled for a runner-up finish. Brown extended his advantage atop the season-long rankings with a third-place effort. Trevor Sanborn, of East Parsonsfield, finished fourth with a solid outing.

Dixfield’s Ryan Robbins edged Anson’s Scott Moore to secure fifth in the closing laps. Brad Babb of Windham, TJ Brackett, of Buckfield, Calvin Rose Jr., of Turner, and Conway, New Hampshire’s Mark Lundblad Jr. completed the top 10.


Reigning Street Stock champion Billy Childs Jr. won his fourth feature in four starts, setting a blistering pace to earn his appearance in Victory Lane. Childs, of Leeds, started seventh on the 12-car grid, took the lead from Jordan Russell on lap nine and pulled away for top honors in the non-stop 30-lap event.

Russell matched a career-best second-place finish, while Ryan Hewins raced from dead last on the starting grid to fill out the podium in third. Nic Stanley led early and finished fourth, while Livermore native Tyler King rounded out the top five.

Southern Maine invader Travis Lovejoy cruised to his first win in the Bandits division, leading all 20 laps of the feature. Lovejoy, of Waterboro, outdistanced point leader Dustin Salley, of Poland.

Salley prevailed in a long battle for runner-up honors with defending Bandits champion Brandon Varney of Mechanic Falls. Chad Wills of Buckfield was fourth, followed by former champion Shaun Hinkley.

Charlie ‘Chachy’ Hall of Oxford led all 20 laps on his way to a first-ever Figure 8 race triumph. Hall had to hold off championship points leader Kyle Kilgore of South Paris to earn the win. Greg Durgin of South Paris was third, followed by Dale Lawrence of Lisbon and Oxford’s Kyle Glover.

Thomas Brackett of Auburn posted his ninth victory of the year in the 15-lap Rookie division race. The previous week’s winner, Brady Heath, was the runner-up. Owen Stuart crossed the line in third position, ahead of third-generation racer Brady Childs, of Leeds.


Collins wins wild LMS feature at Wiscasset

Will Collins needed patience to prevail in one of the season’s most chaotic races. Lots of patience.

The Waterboro driver inherited the lead with 15 laps remaining and pulled away to win the 40-lap Late Model Sportsman feature on Saturday at Wiscasset Speedway.

Collins held off James Barker and point leader Andrew McLaughlin to earn top honors on a night when rain almost held the upper hand at Richard and Vanessa Jordan’s popular mid-coast oval.

Teams and race fans endured a two-hour rain delay prior to the night’s feature racing. Collins, who started 10th in the 19-car field, had to avoid widespread carnage to wheel his machine into victory lane.

The feature took just over an hour to compete and featured seven cautions (five in the first six laps), two red flags and a high rate of attrition (seven cars failed to finish). The race distance was shortened from 50 laps due to time constraints. 


The Outlaw Mini division was first to get things rolling after a lengthy track-drying process.

Vassalboro’s Brent Roy was in cruise control mode until the first caution on lap 19 erased a huge lead. With less than two laps remaining, Scott Trask got a nose under Roy and spun him out in Turn 2, which allowed Whitefield’s Jake Hendsbee to dive underneath and take command.

Hendsbee drove off to his division-leading third win of the season, while Roy, who never stopped after his spin, was relegated to fourth. Rob Greenleaf of West Bath finished second and closed the gap on point leader Jimmy Childs.

Leeds veteran Kyle Hewins won a caution-free Strictly Street feature to post his second victory of the season. Brad Erskine of Solon finished second. Adam Chadbourne of Woolwich capped the night with his fifth Modified feature win of 2018. 

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.