St. Dominic Academy’s Avery Lutrzykowski and Taylor Callier of the Edward Little/Leavitt/Poland Red Hornets have been selected as semifinalists for the Beckey Schaffer Award given to the most outstanding senior girls’ hockey player in Maine.

Other semifinalists are Scarborough’s Courtney Brochu, Cheverus/Kennebunk/Old Orchard Beach’s Zoe Mazur, Portland/Deering’s Emily Demers, Greely/Gray-New Gloucester’s Jayme Morrison, Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland’s Sophia Venditti and Flamouth’s Kayla Sarazin.

The winner of the Becky Schaffer Award will be announced at the Maine High School Girls’ Hockey Senior Game on Thursday, Feb. 28, at the Family Ice Center in Falmouth.

The award is in its second year, and is named after Becky Schaffer, a 2006 Yarmouth High School graduate who helped pave the way for girls’ hockey in Maine. She was a leading scorer for the Clippers’ girls’ club team while also playing with the boys’ varsity and JV teams during her junior and senior seasons. Schaffer played club hockey at McGill University. She died in 2011 during a hiking accident in Micronesia, where she was teaching English.


Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.