Below, find a timeline of Maine’s most public instances of resistance to the state’s mask mandate. 

May 3, 2021 —  The New Gloucester Board of Selectmen took no action on an anti-mask resolution that questioned the constitutionality of executive orders requiring face coverings in public settings. The resolution, is almost entirely word-for-word taken from a resolution introduced in Androscoggin County by Androscoggin County Commissioner Isaiah Lary in February.

March 3, 2021 — Androscoggin County Commissioners ratified a proposal that provides a prevention, reaction and preparedness plan that addresses employee health and safety.

Feb. 22, 2021 — The Paris Select Board unanimously passed a resolution opposing Gov. Janet Mills executive orders on face coverings after mistakenly claiming the mandates violate the Americans with Disabilities Act.

Feb. 18, 2021 — The recall effort against Androscoggin County commissioners Brian Ames of Lewiston and John Michael of Auburn was dropped following their votes a day earlier to reject a controversial anti-maks resolution.

Feb. 17, 2021 — The Androscoggin County Commission rejected the controversial anti-mask resolution proposed by Commissioner Isaiah Lary during a contentious meeting. The vote was 6-1, with Lary the only one voting in favor of his statement.


Feb. 10, 2021 — Androscoggin County Commissioner Isaiah Lary of Wales refused to back down and released a new resolution against a statewide mask mandate. The new statement resolves:

• No county official can enforce a “pandemic order,” including the wearing of masks by any resident, visitor or in a business in Androscoggin County.

• To prevent the use of county funds, employees and equipment to enforce the mandate.

• The county administrator take steps to bring the question before the Maine Supreme Judicial Court.

Feb. 8, 2021 — A recall effort is underway to remove three members of the Androscoggin County Commission — Brian Ames, Isaiah Lary and John Michael — for their roles in the anti-mask debate.

Feb. 4, 2021Androscoggin County Sheriff Eric Samson sent commissioners a letter saying he and his staff would not attend future meetings due to the risk of contracting COVID-19.


Feb. 3, 2021 —With spectators shouting “cowards” and “shame,” the Androscoggin County Commission voted 4-3 to table a resolution rejecting the COVID-19 mask mandate ordered by Gov. Janet Mills. The vote came after more than two hours of debate among commissioners and the testimony of nearly two dozen residents.

Video: Mask-wearing objections raised at Androscoggin County Commission meeting

Feb. 2, 2021 — Androscoggin County Commissioner Isaiah Lary announces a resolution at the Androscoggin County Commission meeting opposing mask mandates by local, state and federal governments.

Jan. 20, 2021 — The Androscoggin County Commission met to debate a formal COVID-19 policy for its employees and staff. But it became a debate about wearing masks and what some commissioners called the overreach by Gov. Janet Mills with her mandates on wearing masks and COVID-19 response. Four of the seven commissioners were not wearing masks.

Jan. 13, 2021 — The Piscataquis County Commission passes a resolution objecting to Gov. Janet Mills’ COVID-19 executive orders that includes falsehoods about face coverings and the severity of the disease.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: