Kerrigan Anuszewski of Winthrop High School and Parker Desjardins of Forest Hills High School are among the five winners of $5,000 academic scholarships from the Maine Sports Hall of Fame.

The winners were selected from a pool of 186 applicants. Joining Anuszewski and Desjardins are William Cassidy of Edward Little High School, Morgan Porter of Scarborough High School, and Morgan Schwinn of Washington Academy.

A multi-sport athlete, Anuszewski was an all-state selection in field hockey for the Ramblers. Active in school theater and a volunteer in her community, Anuszewski has been class President throughout high school and is the Class of 2021 valedictorian. Anuszewski will attend Bates College, where she’ll continue her field hockey career.

Desjardins scored 2,000 points in his high school basketball career and was a finalist for Mr. Maine Basketball this past season. He helped lead Forest Hills to back-to-back boys basketball state championships in 2019 and 2020. Desjardins is valedictorian of his class and an Eagle Scout. Desjardins will attend Thomas College, where he plans to continue his basketball career.

Comments are not available on this story.