GRAY — Jay Hawkes scored 22 points to lead Gray-New Gloucester over Marshwood 57-48 in a Class A South boys basketball game Tuesday.

Max Kenney added 14 points and Nate Hebert had 12 for the Patriots (6-3), who outscored Marshwood (6-2) 31-22 over the middle quarters after a leading 13-12 after one quarter.

Andrew Perry had 21 points and Aiden Sullivan finished with 11 points for the Hawks.

ST. DOMINIC 66, SACOPEE VALLEY 39: Taylor Varney led the Saints (5-1) with 18 points in a win over the Hawks (0-8) in Auburn.

Michael Stowe chipped in with 14 points and Campbell Perryman added 10.

Carson Black led Sacopee Valley with 12 points and Ashton Day scored seven.


YARMOUTH 48, LEAVITT 24: Peter Psyhogeos scored 21 points and the Clippers (8-0) took a 29-14 lead at the half and beat the Hornets (7-3) in Yarmouth.

Matt Waeldner scored seven of his nine points in the second quarter as Yarmouth went on a 16-8 run to pull away.

Declan Giroux scored seven points for Leavitt.

RICHMOND 53, RANGELEY 42: The Bobcats (5-2) shared the scoring in a home win over the Lakers (1-1) in Richmond.

Izzy Stewart’s 13 points past Richmond, which had seven players score. Kara Briand also finished with double-digit points, scoring 10.

Winnie LaRochelle led Rangeley with 19 points and Isa Whittier chipped in 12. The Lakers led 15-9 after one quarter but trailed 25-20 at halftime.


BANGOR 56, LEWISTON 35: In a game featuring spread-out scoring for both teams, Abbie Quinn’s 23 points was the game-high for the Rams (6-3) in a home KVAC win over the Blue Devils (3-5) in Bangor.

Emi Streams pitched in with 10 points for Bangor.

Natalie Beaudoin led Lewiston with 10 points, while Koral Morin scored nine and Ellie Legare added eight.

FITZPATRICK CEREMONY POSTPONED: The Fitzpatrick Trophy awards ceremony, which was scheduled for this coming Sunday, has been postponed, according to an email sent by the award committee Tuesday night. The committee is looking to present the award and hold the banquet sometime in early March.

The email, which contained a letter from committee chairman Jack Dawson, said the postponement was caused by the news of many schools reverting to remote instruction and “messages from several individuals that the current spike in Covid-19 infections has influenced their decisions to stay clear of all kinds of public activity.”

The three finalists for the award are Bonny Eagle lineman Thomas Horton, Windham quarterback Will Ledbetter and Cape Elizabeth quarterback Caden McDuffie

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.