Three area players have been announced as semifinalists for the  2022 Mr. and Miss Maine Basketball awards, which are given to the top senior boys and girls players in the state.

Edward Little’s John Shea and Lewiston’s David Omasombo are in the running for Mr. Maine Basketball, while Oxford Hills’ Brooklyn Alexander is one of 10 semifinalists for Miss Maine Basketball.

Three girls basketball players who are headed to NCAA Division I programs in the fall — Jaycie Christopher of Skowhegan, Sarah Talon of Windham and Grace Ramsdell of Wells — also are Miss Maine Basketball semifinalists.

Christopher, a Boston University recruit, has led Skowhegan to a 20-0 record this season going into the Class A North final, currently scheduled for Friday evening, against Lawrence. Talon is headed to the University of Maine, and Ramsdell signed with Merrimack.

The other semifinalists are Anna Nelson of Gorham, Lindsay Fiorillo of Scarborough, Chelsea Graiver of Greely, Katelyn D’Appolonia of Yarmouth, Faith Sjoberg of Presque Isle and Alisyn Alley of Stearns.

Joining Shea and Omasombo, whose teams face off Thursday in the Class AA North boys semifinals, as Mr. Maine Basketball semifinalists are Brady Coyne of Falmouth, Owen Maloney of South Portland, Luke Briggs of Cony, Max Clark of Bangor, Hunter Curtis of Ellsworth, Austin Delisle of Fort Kent and Aaron Newcomb and Colby Smith of Brewer.


If selected, Shea would be the second Edward Little player to win Mr. Maine Basketball, joining Troy Barnies, who won the award in 2007. Lewiston has yet to have a player earn the award.

Julia Colby won Miss Maine Basketball in 2020 after leading Oxford Hills to its second consecutive state championship.

Three finalists for each award will be announced next week, and the winners will be presented between Maine McDonald’s Senior All-Star Games on March 12, at Husson University.

Alexander, Omasombo and Shea have been chosen for Class AA/A/B North squads for the McDonald’s All-Star games along with several other area players.

Joining Omasombo and Shea on the AA North boys team is Oxford Hills’ Colby Dillingham. Poland’s Hunter Gibson, Gray-New Gloucester’s Jay Hawkes and Spruce Mountain’s Owen Bryant are on the AA/A/B South team.

The boys C/D All-Star team includes Mt. Abram’s Adam Luce, Winthrop’s Andrew Foster and Logan Baird, St. Dom’s Gabe Carey, Monmouth’s Hayden Fletcher and Dirigo’s Wyatt Smith.

Mountain Valley’s Autumn Freeman will play for the girls AA/A/B South team. Dirigo’s Alyvia Perreault, Rangeley’s Emily Eastlack and Winnie LaRochelle and Winthrop’s Lydia Rice and Maddie Perkins have been voted to the girls C/D South squad.

Related Headlines

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.