LEWISTON — The Lewiston Auburn Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce has announced the winners of this year’s annual awards, recognizing individuals, businesses and organizations that have shown outstanding dedication to the Lewiston-Auburn area.

The 2022 winners include four individuals, one business and one community initiative. “This year’s nominations underscored all of the contributions to the economy and quality of life throughout the region,” said Shanna Cox, president and chief executive officer of the chamber.

The four individuals receiving awards are:

Jim “Jimbo” Marston Nicole Rand photo

Ray Geiger Chamber Champion: Jim “Jimbo” Marston, publisher and chief executive officer of LA Metro Magazine & Uncle Andy’s Digest.

Amy Smith Ryan Captures Life Photography photo

Theresa Samson Women’s Business Leadership: Amy Smith, board member of Healthy Neighborhoods, founder of Healthy Homeworks, founder of Lewiston Rowing.

Betsy Libby Submitted photo

Leading Through Change: Betsy Libby, president of Central Maine Community College.


Fatuma Hussein Submitted photo

Heart of the Community: Fatuma Hussein, founder and executive director of the Immigrant Resource Center of Maine.

The award-winning business:

Bennett Radio Group, WIGY Ryan Captures Life Photography photo

Ken Additon Economic Development Champion: Bennett Radio Group, WIGY Radio.

The award-winning community initiative:

Central Maine High-Volume Vaccination Clinic Submitted photo

President’s Award: Central Maine High-Volume Vaccination Clinic, recognizing the collaborative effort that brought it to the region from Central Maine Healthcare, Auburn Fire Department and Maine National Guard.

“Each of our award-winners have made significant contributions in and beyond their own area of work,” Cox said. “We are proud to highlight their successes, from which we all benefit and can all celebrate.”

The award ceremony will be held outdoors from 3 to 6 p.m. Thursday, May 26, at Poland Spring Resort, state Route 26 in Poland.

The Sun Journal will provide live coverage of the event online.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.