BETHEL — There will be two new faces sitting at the School Administrative District 44 board of directors table for the next three years: Scott Cole and Mark Hutchins.

On Tuesday, the pair were elected to fill two three-year terms as SAD 44 directors, with 373 and 316 votes, respectively.

Candidate Michael Clark-Pelletier garnered 269 votes; incumbent David Jones drew 254 votes.

Incumbent SAD 44 Director Erin Cooley of Greenwood was reelected to her seat, earning 419 votes to challenger Destiny Hughes’ 151 votes.

Newry directors Amy Henley and David Bartlett were each reelected to three-year terms. Neither had faced challengers for the seats.

And, Woodstock incumbent Director Marcy Winslow faced no challengers and was reseated for a three-year term.


In Bethel, there will also be fresh faces around the Select Board table.

Five candidates were seeking election to two open seats on the board, each for a three-year term, including incumbents Michele Varuolo Cole and Neil Scanlon. Neither were reelected.

Instead, newcomers Meryl Kelly and Frank Del Duca were elected, with 241 and 191 votes, respectively.

Kelly is also a member of the town’s Planning Board; her term expires Dec. 31.

Varuolo Cole received 180 votes and Scanlon got 169 votes. The remaining candidate, Christopher Tyler received 61 votes.

Incumbent Assessor Neil Scanlon was reelected.

In Newry, Gary Wight, who currently serves as chairman of the Select Board, was reelected without challenge.

Voters narrowly approved three ordinances. The first will amend the United Development Review Ordinance for Newry; the second amends the Building Code Ordinance; and the third amends the town’s Shoreland Zoning Map.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: