Trevor Sanborn (29) races ahead of TJ Brackett during Super Late Model action at Oxford Plains Speedway on Saturday. Oriana Lovell photo

A win in a 100-lap race in late July has Trevor Sanborn one step closer to a coveted starting spot in a much bigger 250-lap race in late August.

Sanborn outlasted the field Saturday night in Super Late Model action at Oxford Plains Speedway in the first of three Port City Race Cars Triple Crown races scheduled at the track in the lead-up to the Oxford 250 on Aug. 28.

Two more Triple Crown races are scheduled for the next two Saturdays, and the driver with the best average finish in the three Triple Crown races who doesn’t qualify into the Oxford 250 through heat race and consolation qualifying will earn a provisional spot.

While Sanborn earned the checkered flag — and the $2,000 winner’s check for the Triple Crown race — Saturday’s runner-up TJ Brackett and third-place finisher Joey Doiron also put themselves in good position to earn the Oxford 250 provisional.

Another spotlight race at the track Saturday night was a special 35-lap feature for the first-year Thunder Stocks division. The 12-car field for the growing division was conquered by Kyle Plummer, with Cody White and Charlie Young rounding out the podium.

Other winners in Oxford Championship Series action Saturday night included: Brandon Varney (Mods), Kristina Nadeau (Limiteds), Joey Israelson (Street Stocks), Cam Richards (Mad Bombers), Evan Roy (Rookies) and Greg Durgin (Figure 8s).



Oxford Plains Speedway celebrated Christmas in July on Friday night, with the Oxford Acceleration Series divisions in action along with two divisions from the Wicked Good Vintage Racing Association, the Oxford Championship Series Mad Bombers, an enduro and spectator drag races.

Brian Caswell won the Mad Bombers feature for his first podium of the weekend — he also finished third Saturday night.

Oxford Acceleration Series division winners included: Maddy Herrick (Ladies), Chad Wills (Rebels), Skip Tripp (Outlaws), Ethan Guptill (Cruisers), Ryan Farrar (Sport Trucks) and Cameron Ledoux (Jr. Rookies).

Addison Bowie captured the Wicked Good Hobby Division feature, and Bobby Symonds was victorious in the Wicked Good Early Late Model Division.

David Cook outlasted the field in the 50-lap enduro for 4- and 6-cylinder engines. Spectator Drags winners were Steve Smith and Nick Kent.



Wiscasset Speedway celebrated its birthday and also honored its latest Hall of Fame class Saturday. On the track, Brandon Williams and Kyle Willette each celebrated in victory lane for the first time.

Williams was the winner in the Modifieds feature as part of Group 2 action. Willette captured the Outlaw Mini feature.

Other winners included Will Collins in the Late Model Sportsman division, Kurt Hewins in Strictly Streets and David Whitelaw in Roadrunners.

Wiscasset’s Group 1 divisions will have a special guests this coming Saturday as the 350SMAC super modifieds are visiting the track.


The Pro All Star Series SLMs and Mods will be in action Wednesday as part of the Bay State Summer Classic at Seekonk Speedway in Massachusetts.

The SLM feature is scheduled for 150 laps, with $10,000 going to the winner. The Mods feature is scheduled for 50 laps.

The driver to beat will be multi-time PASS series champion Johnny Clark, who won at Seekonk in June and also in the series’ most recent race July 16 at White Mountain Motorsports Park. That followed up a runner-up finish to DJ Shaw in the first feature of the PASS doubleheader at White Mountain on July 15.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.