Poll worker Mark Arsenault helps his neighbor, Susie Reinke, back to her car Tuesday after casting ballots at Winthrop High School. Andy Molloy/Kennebec Journal

WINTHROP — The town had no shortage of contested races this year, and residents weighed in on their preferred candidates Tuesday.

For Town Council, James Steele and Shannon McDonnell were elected to three-year terms with a respective 1,482 and 1,111 votes, according to unofficial results.

Kelly Stratton received 1,060 votes, Michael Czado received 887 votes and Bernard Weymouth Jr. received 875 votes.

Steele was the only incumbent out of the five. He was elected earlier this year after after the death of former councilor Rita Moran.

For the Winthrop library board of trustees, Wendy Wagner (1,930 votes), Denise Bosse (1,743) and Barbara Coriell (1,716) were elected for three-year terms. Mary Jane Auns received 1,534 votes.

People greet each other Tuesday at the polls at Winthrop High School. Andy Molloy/Kennebec Journal

It was the first contested race for the town’s library board in over 10 years.

Out of all four running, Auns was the only incumbent.

And for the school committee, Alicia Lawson and Ivy Corliss were each elected to three-year terms with 2,006 and 1,685 votes, respectively. George Smith received 1,511 votes.

There were no incumbents in the race, as all three candidates were vying to replace board members Susan Belz and Joseph Pietroski, whose terms are up at the end of the year.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story