UMaine-Farmington senior guard Terion Moss dribbles down the court during the NAC championship game against SUNY Delhi on Saturday in Farmington. Tony Blasi/Sun Journal

For the second consecutive season, University of Maine at Farmington guard Terion Moss has been named the player of the year by the Maine Men’s Basketball Coaches & Writers Association.

The honor was announced Wednesday, along with teammate Jack Kane being named the Defensive Player of the Year and the All-State teams unveiled.

Moss and Kane were also selected as the North Atlantic Conference’s Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year, respectively, last week.

Colby’s Max Poulton was tabbed the MMBCWA Rookie of the Year and the Mules’ Damien Strahorn was named Coach of the Year.

Moss and Bates’ Steph Baxter were selected to the All-State first team, along with UMaine-Presque Isle’s Griffin Guerrette, Colby’s Will King and Bowdoin’s James McGowan. Kane was joined on the second team by Griffin Foley of St. Joseph’s, Southern Maine’s Cody Hawes, Maine Maritime’s Curt Heinz and Colby’s Noah Tyson.

The All-Rookie team featured Poulton, JP Frazier of St. Joe’s, Southern Maine’s Mark Asare Jr., University of New England’s Adrian Torres and Maine Maritime’s Connor Tuerff.

Kane headlined the five-player All-Defensive team, which also included Heinz, Torres, Tyson and Bowdoin’s Afandi Achufusi.

UMaine-Farmington finished second in the final Top 5 Coaches Poll, behind Colby, which received all 11 first-place votes.

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: