Max Cookson races around Oxford Plains Speedway during Pro All Stars Series SLM action on Saturday. Oriana Lovell photo

Defending Super Late Model champion Max Cookson is off to a torrid start in the division at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Max Cookson races celebrates in victory lane at Oxford Plains Speedway after winning the Pro All Stars Series SLM feature on Saturday. Oriana Lovell photo

The Pittsfield native won his third feature race in as many tries this season. Cookson’s latest victory came Saturday in the Pro All Stars Series’ first visit to the track.

Cookson opened the Oxford Championship Series season with back-to-back 50-lap wins on April 22 and May 7. That matched his wins total in Championship Series SLM action from his title-winning season as a division rookie last year.

Saturday’s PASS win came in a 150-lap feature against 24 other starters in a field that included former track champions and Oxford 250 winners. It was Cookson’s second PASS SLM victory, having won one of the series’ visits to Oxford Plains last year.

Cookson finished sixth in the previous PASS SLM race, at Thunder Road in Vermont on May 6. That race was won by Derek Griffith, who skipped out on Saturday’s PASS action to get ready for an ASA Stars tour event at North Wilkesboro Speedway on Tuesday.

Brandon Barker was the runner-up to Cookson on Saturday, with Kyle DeSouza rounding out the podium. Ben Rowe finished fourth.


In PASS Mods action, Spencer Vaughan picked up his first career win, with Ryan Hewins and Spencer Morse completing the podium in the 50-lap feature. Brandon Varney, who won at Thunder Road in the series’ previous event, finished fourth Saturday.

In regular Oxford Championship Series divisions, Saturday’s feature winners included Chris Smith (Limiteds), Tyson Jordan (Street Stocks), Corey Morgan (Mad Bombers) and Charlie Hall (Thunder Stocks).


Wiscasset Speedway hosted its Group 2 divisions for their second turn of the season Saturday, and for the second time in as many races Chip Farrington captured the checkered flag in the Roadrunners feature.

Three other divisions saw the winner from the season opener two weeks ago finish on the podium again Saturday.

Ryan Ripley had a runner-up finish in the Modified division, placing between winner Nick Reno and his father, Steve Reno, in third.

Will Collins and Kyle Willette each finished third in the Late Model and Outlaw Minis divisions, respectively.

Ryan St. Clair beat out Jon Emerson to win the Late Model feature, while Zach Audet bested Jimmy Childs in Outlaw Minis.

Capping off Saturday’s action was Caleb Emerson-Mains winning his first career Strictly Streets feature.

Comments are no longer available on this story