The Institute for Family-Owned Business is asking for nominations for the best family-owned Maine businesses to be recognized at the 23rd annual Maine Family Business Awards.

All family-owned businesses in Maine are eligible for consideration. Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged. A family business is defined as one in which one owner either shares ownership or works in the business with at least one other family member (contemporaneously or over time) and has a commitment to the continuation of the enterprise. Nominated businesses will know who nominated them for an award.

The guest speakers at this year’s event will be Chase Morrill, Ashely Morrill and Ryan Eldridge, creators of the Kennebec Cabin Co. of Manchester who most people recognize as the stars of the reality TV show “Maine Cabin Masters.” Last year the Kennebec Cabin Co. won the First Generation Award. Along with the company’s popular reality show, they run a retail and online store featuring products by Maine artisans and craftspeople, as well as a bar, eatery and live music and event venue called The Woodshed.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, June 30. Nominated businesses will have until Friday, July 14, to complete the application for the awards, which details their business history and more, and they automatically become semifinalists. Any family business that completes the application will receive a free membership to the Institute for Family-Owned Business for the rest of the year, which includes educational programs and networking events, among other things.

An independent judging panel selects winners based on criteria that include the nature of family involvement, the success of the business, the work environment, and innovative business practices or strategies.

Honorees in 2022 included Luke’s Lobster, Loyal Biscuit Co., S.W. Collins Co., Box of Maine, Kennebec Cabin Co., Franklin Printing and Rugged Seas.

Janet Cole Cross of Cole Cross Connections will be honored with the BerryDunn Lifetime Achievement Award.

Awards to be presented include:

  • Reny’s Large Business Award (25 or more employees).
  • Chalmers Insurance Group Customer Service Award.
  • Horch Roofing First Generation Award.
  • M&T Bank Innovation & Technology Award.
  • Shep Lee Community Service Award.
  • Maddy Corson Small Business Award (fewer than 25 employees).
  • Geiger Environmental Leadership Award.

For more information about the awards and nomination process, visit the Institute for Family-Owned Business newly redesigned website at or call the Institute at (207) 798-2667.

Comments are not available on this story.