AUBURN — The City Council will look a little different in 2024 after three of the seven seats will change hands.

Tim Cowan, Benjamin Weisner and Adam Platz, who won election Tuesday, will join incumbents Rick Whiting, Steve Milks, Leroy Walker and Belinda Gerry.

In Ward 2, Cowan bested incumbent Ryan Hawes by a wide margin of 924-395.

Platz, a newcomer, received the most votes in the four-way at-large race, with 2,993. The next best was Councilor Gerry with 2,670. That left Councilor Dana Staples out of the top two spots, along with Ryan Smith.

The council has two at-large seats.

In Ward 5, Leroy Walker defeated challenger Stefanie Mahr Damien, 777-416. It will be Walker’s seventh term.

Benjamin Weisner, who ran unopposed in Ward 4, will replace Joe Morin, who did not seek reelection.

Whiting was unopposed in Ward 1 for a second term, while Steve Milks was unopposed in Ward 3 for a third term.

The current council has been marked by its considerable rezoning efforts to encourage new housing and development over the past two years, which may have led to some of the turnover on a night that also saw Mayor Jason Levesque lose by a considerable margin to Jeff Harmon.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.