Nine semifinalists were announced for the Becky Schaffer Award by the Maine High School Girls Hockey Association on Tuesday.

The award, which is given to the top senior girls hockey player in Maine, is named after former Yarmouth standout Becky Schaffer, who died in a hiking accident in 2011.

Six of the nine players come from Southern Maine. They are Emerson Homa and Greta Grant of Gorham/Bonny Eagle/Massabesic/Fryeburg/Lake Region/Westbrook, and Brynn McKenney, Lily Johnson, Mikayla Talbot and Ella Lemieux of Cheverus/Windham.

The three nominees from Northern Maine are Rosie Panenka and Amanda Panciocco of Yarmouth/Freeport and Anna Molloy of Penobscot.

The Becky Schaffer Award will be handed out along with all-state and all-conference teams at the senior all-star game on Wednesday, Feb. 28, at the Family Ice Center in Falmouth.

Kylee Spugnardi and Izzy Jalbert will represent Edward Little/Leavitt/Poland at the all-star game. Georgie Davidson and Lauren Hanlon will represent St. Dom’s and Fiona Landry is Lewiston/Oak Hill’s representative.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story