STAMFORD, Conn. (Dow Jones/AP) – MeadWestvaco Corp. said Monday it has named James A. Buzzard to the newly created position of president.

The packaging and paper giant also named Cynthia A. Niekamp senior vice president and chief financial officer.

Niekamp also will continue to oversee corporate strategy. She succeeds Karen R. Osar, who resigned to pursue other interests.

MeadWestvaco said Buzzard, 48, was executive vice president overseeing the Mead and Westvaco merger integration and the consumer and office products group.

Niekamp, 43, was most recently a senior vice president with responsibility for corporate strategy, specialty chemicals and specialty papers.

MeadWestvaco also said Ian W. Millar, the executive vice president responsible for the papers group, has elected to leave the company. Millar, 52, “has agreed to assist the company in assuring an effective transition,” MeadWestvaco said. The company will seek a new head of the papers business.

The Stamford-based company, which was formed in January 2002 by the merger of Mead Corp. and Westvaco Corp., owns a mill in Rumford.

AP-ES-04-28-03 1130EDT

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.