NEW YORK (AP) – Get ready to welcome Rudy, Richard, Tina and other favorite “Survivor” castaways for a rematch on the upcoming “Survivor: All-Stars” competition. The chosen 18, representing all seven of CBS’ past “Survivor” seasons, were announced Monday during the network’s “Early Show.” They face off when the hit reality-challenge series returns for its new edition after the Super Bowl telecast on Feb. 1.

Breaking with tradition, the 18 contestants will be broken into three tribes, not the usual two.

For “Survivor” handicappers, the invited contestants represented little surprise. Indeed, the roster had been posted for weeks on at least one fan Web site.

“Survivor: All-Stars” will represent another return: to the Pearl Islands off Panama, where the most recent “Survivor” was set.

Host Jeff Probst, of course, returns. The first “Survivor” premiered in May 2000, and became a surprise hit, then a national phenomenon, before Hatch took the title in the finale that aired that August. Subsequent editions have continued to attract a strong audience.

On the Net:

AP-ES-01-12-04 0955EST

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.