LEWISTON – The Lewiston Ice Dawgs varsity team, sponsored by P.A.L., captured the 2006 Southern Maine Middle School Hockey League championship in its maiden season.

The Dawgs beat North Yarmouth Academy 4-1 in the playoff title game. Connor Anthoine led the offense with a goal and 3 assists. After Donne Larrivee provided Lewiston with a 1-0 lead in the first period, Alex Parker converted an Anthoine pass for the eventual game-winning goal early in the second chapter. Sam Cloutier put the game away with Lewiston’s fourth goal.

Also providing offensive spark were Cody Chadwick, Colt Steele, Dylan Rodrigue, Michael Bouchard and TJ Ferland.

Defensive standouts were Matt Lamare, Scott Ouellette, Dylan Pomerleau, Nick Mathon and Troy Cailler.

Cam Poussard was outstanding in goal.

Ryan Lemelin and Cloutier were chosen by the coach as the game’s Co-Most Valuable Player.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.