AUGUSTA – Camden Hills shook off Belfast and Mountain Valley to march off with 2007 Class B state wrestling championship at the Augusta Civic Center on Saturday.

Camden Hills finished with 202 points, while Belfast (162.5) and the Falcons (127) followed in second and third place, respectively.

Mountain Valley won the state crown a year ago.

Mountain Valley was led by Ernie Matthews (125 pounds), Derek Sicotte (135), Ben Matthews (145), Devin Roberts (152), Tyler Child (215) and Kyle Dow (285).

Each state champion has automatically qualified for the New England championships in New Haven, Conn. next month.

Camden Hills was equally strong with Ivvan Bragg (119), Murphy McGowen (125), True Bragg (130), Cody Laite (140) and Jacob Berry (152).

The contenders each wanted to advance as many individuals in to the finals, but it was also essential to have wrestlers advance back through the consolations.

Every point was vital.

CH and the Falcons went head-to-head three times in the finals. Falcon Sicotte lost to Jack Simpkins of Camden, 5-1. Matthews pinned McGowen at 1:08. And Berry pinned Roberts at 2:49.

Dow (285) won a stirring heavyweight bout over Wells’ Colby Sholler, 6-5 in overtime.

MV received help by Belfast Mike Rollerson and Travis Spencer 189 beating CH in finals.

It was redemption for Sicotte, Matthews and Dow who each lost close decisions in the state finals in 2006.

Clyde Tibbetts of Oak Hill finished second at 171, falling to York’s Ray Gauthier in the final, 11-5. The Raiders’ Chirs Lagasse pinned Steven Hutchins of Nokomis at 4:13 to win the 119 consolation, while teammate Ken Pinard finished fourth at 112. The Falcons’ Tim Ross (103) and Child (215) also earned a fourth-place finishes.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.