1982, at Hull, Quebec: Portland Winter Hawks, WHL champion; Winter Hawks go

2-2 in round robin and fail to make playoffs of three-team tournament.

Kitchener defeats Sherbrooke 7-4 in final.

1983, at Portland, Oregon: First four-team tournament; Portland Winter

Hawks, WHL runner-up; Portland goes 2-1 in round robin, earns berth into

final, then beats OHL champion Oshawa 8-3 for Cup.

1986, at Portland, Oregon: Portland Winter Hawks, tournament hosts; Hawks go

1-2 in round robin, then lose tiebreaker to Kamloops, 8-1, and fail to

make playoffs. Guelph defeats Hull 6-2 in final.

1991, at Quebec City, Quebec: Spokane Chiefs, WHL champion; Chiefs go 3-0 in

round robin, earn berth into final, then beat Drummondville 5-1 for Cup.

1992, at Seattle, Washington: Seattle Thunderbirds, tournament hosts; T-Birds

go 1-2 in round robin, then lose 8-3 to Kamloops in semifinal. Kamloops

defeats Sault Ste. Marie 5-4 in final.

1995 at Kamloops, British Columbia: Detroit Jr. Red Wings, OHL champions; Wings go

2-1 in round robin, then beat Brandon 2-1 in semifinal. In the final,

Detroit loses 8-2 to Kamloops, which claimed its third Memorial Cup in

four years.

1998, Spokane, Washington: Spokane Chiefs, tournament hosts; Portland Winter

Hawks, WHL champions; Chiefs go 1-2 in round robin, then lose 2-1 in

overtime to Guelph in the semifinal. Portland goes 3-0 in round robin and

earns berth in final. Portland then defeats Guelph, 4-3 in overtime, for

the Cup.

* Thank you to Doyle Potenteau of the Daily Courier (Kelowna, British Coolumbia).

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.