LEWISTON – Central Maine Medical Center’s Family Medicine Residency Program recognized five third-year family practice residents at a recent graduation program. Honored at the commencement exercises were family physicians Christopher Cieurzo, M.D., Manju Hilary, M.D., Stephen Kulcsar, D.O., Kirk Silver, M.D., and Christine Tremblay, D.O.

Daniel Hale, M.D., medical director of pediatric integrated services at CMMC, was presented the Dr. Bruce Johnson Residency Teacher of the Year Award, which honors the physician who the graduating senior residents voted as the physician who made the most outstanding contribution to their family medicine residency education. Edmund Claxton, M.D., residency program director, was honored for his leadership. The CMMC hospitalists, who admit and care for many inpatients at CMMC, were honored for their inpatient teaching. Sean McCloy, an outpatient community preceptor, was honored for his commitment to outpatient teaching in the Family Medicine Center. Other honorees included Jen Fish and Francisca Rivers, both employees of the CMMC Family Medicine Center.

Three of the five graduate physicians will practice medicine in Maine. Hilary will join Fred Van Mourik, M.D., and Paul Benson, M.D., at Gray Family Practice in Gray. Cieurzo, after a deployment to Guam with the U.S. Air Force, will begin work in October at InterMed Family Practice in South Portland. Tremblay will join Wells Family Practice in Wells.

Kulcsar will move to Newburyport, Mass., to begin practice at Highland Family Practice. Silver will practice medicine and teach medical students about international health rotations in India and Belize for the next year. He was in India at the time of graduation.

CMMC created the Family Medicine Residency Program in 1978 to support the training of family physicians in order to provide well-trained family doctors to the Lewiston-Auburn area, as well as to other areas of Maine.

Former graduates of the CMMC Residency Program practicing in the greater Lewiston-Auburn area include Peter Beckel, Paul Benson, Tom Bosma, Charles Burns, Denise Cogle, Paul Davis, Shannon Deschenes, Steve Fairchild, Shannon Kenney, Beth Lake, Deb Learson, Margaret Matthews, Steven Molnar-Gabor, Kurt Oswald, Nathan Raby, Sarah Skelton, Ray Tardif, Fred Van Mourik and Geniene Wilson.