AUBURN – With 70 percent of its $1.9 million goal reached, United Way of Androscoggin County held a campaign celebration Thursday night to honor outstanding volunteer and company efforts.

Electro Static Technology of Mechanic Falls received the Spirit of the Androscoggin award. Nearly 75 percent of the firm’s employees participated in this year’s campaign and the Day of Caring for community volunteer work.

Accepting the award for Electro Static Technology were Joanne Audet and Rebecca Tufts.

Mark Anthoine, chairman of the county’s United Way board of directors, said, “This is not just about raising dollars.” He told the celebration attendees at Martindale Country Club that it’s also about raising awareness of the United Way’s work and the needs of the community, and also raising credibility about how United Way “determines the consistent and, at the same time, ever-changing needs of the community to assure that where those dollars go makes the greatest impact in the community.”

Finally, Anthoine said the United Way raises hopes of both the recipients of help and of the agencies who provide assistance.

Dick Albert, this year’s campaign chairman, said about $1.3 million has been raised toward the goal, and with several weeks of the campaign to go, he said it will probably run up the biggest tally ever.

Joleen Bedard, executive director of United Way of Androscoggin County, credited the campaign’s loaned executives with important contributions to her office’s efforts. They are Joanie Davis-Dunn, L.L. Bean; Linda Wheeler, Tambrands/Proctor and Gamble; and Anthony Prock, Hannaford-Auburn. Formed Fiber also provided sponsorship.

Bath Iron Works was honored for the contributions of 543 employees to the Androscoggin campaign. Their donations amounted to nearly $90,000. Accepting the award for Bath Iron Works was Steve Young.

Campaign awards also went to Community Credit Union and its president, Donna Steckino, to Neokraft Signs and to Agren Appliances.

In the Commerce Division, Rowe Auburn was honored for 60 percent participation of its employees. Other Commerce Division companies winning Outstanding Campaign Awards were L.L. Bean and Wal-Mart Distribution Center.

Recognition in the Finance, Insurance and Real Estate Division and the Professional Division went to Androscoggin Bank for its $30,000 contribution; Healey and Associates; Mechanic Savings Bank; TD Banknorth and Hannaford Auburn.

Honors in the Non-Profit, Public Service and Healthcare Divisions went to Central Maine Medical Center for raising more than $80,000; to Sandcastle Preschool Program Foundation; and to Tambrands/Proctor and Gamble.

The celebration recognized several outstanding employee campaign managers. They are Clayton Roy of Marden’s; Michelle Pettengill of Rowe Auburn; Joyce Ruby, city of Lewiston; and Christopher Main, Naomi Williams and Mark Plourde, Tambrands/Proctor and Gamble.

The celebration also recognized donors of $10,000 or more, making them members of the United Way’s prestigious Alexis de Tocqueville Society.

They are Ray and Rhonda Martel, Mark and Deb Anthoine and David and Lis Murphy.

Three major incentive prizes were awarded from a drawing of nearly 2,000 eligible donors.

Marc Roy of Spiller’s won a 2007 Arctic Cat snowmobile given by Rowe Auburn.

Jerry Sirois of Marden’s won a Bermuda cruise from Dube Travel, and Richard Daggett of UPS won a kayak package from L.L. Bean.

Eligibility for the campaign incentives required a United Way donation of $3 or more per week.

The campaign celebration featured entertainment by comedian Mike Miclon of the Oddfellow Theatre in Buckfield.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.