Multiple winners

3, Dave Dion (75, 85, 92)

3, Ralph Nason (98, 99, 00)

3, Mike Rowe (84, 97, 05)

2, Geoff Bodine (80, 81)

2, Chuck Bown (86, 90)

2, Jamie Aube (87, 89)

2, Ben Rowe (03, 04)

Largest winners purse

$52,150, Dave Whitlock (1995)

Smallest winners purse

$4,500 Joey Kourafas (1974)

$4,500 Dave Dion (1975)

Most career earnings

$187,715, Ralph Nason

Most career earnings for non-winner

$66,420, Tracy Gordon

First Maine winner

Mike Rowe (1984)

Last Maine winner

Mike Rowe (2005)

First Canadian winner

Don Biederman (1977)

Last Canadian winner

Dave Whitlock (1995)

Multiple runner-up finishes

3, Butch Lindley (77, 80, 82)

3, Robbie Crouch (81, 84, 86)

2, Tommy Houston (90, 91)

2, Tracy Gordon (97, 98)

2, Ben Rowe (99, 00)

Multiple top-3 finishes

6, Butch Lindley (1st-76, 2nd-77, 3rd-78, 2nd-80, 2nd-82, 3rd-84)

5, Joey Kourafas (1st-74, 3rd-76, 2nd-85, 3rd-87, 3rd-90)

5, Dave Dion (1st-75, 1st-85, 3rd-86, 2nd-87, 1st-92)

5, Mike Rowe (1st-84, 1st-97, 3rd-98, 2nd-02, 1st-05)

5, Ralph Nason (2nd-76, 1st-98, 1st-99, 1st-00, 3rd-01)

5, Dick McCabe (3rd-82, 2nd-83, 3rd-85, 1st-88, 2nd-89)

4, Ben Rowe (2nd-99, 2nd-00, 1st-03, 1st-04)

3, Bob Pressley (3rd-77, 1st-78, 3rd-79

3, Robbie Crouch (2nd-81, 2nd-84, 2nd-86)

3, Tracy Gordon (3rd-95, 2nd-97, 2nd-98)

3, Gary Drew (3rd-97, 1st-01, 3rd-03)

2, George Summers (3rd-74, 2nd-75)

2, Geoff Bodine (1st-80, 1st-81)

2, Chuck Bown (1st-86, 1st-90)

2, Jamie Aube (1st-87, 1st-89)

2, Tommy Houston (2nd-90, 2nd-91)

2, Scott Robbins (2nd-01, 1st-02)

Only driver to win after finishing last the previous year

Larry Gelinas (1996)

Only driver to win after finishing second the previous year

Scott Robbins (2002)

Only driver to win last chance race and 250 in same year

Mike Rowe (2005)

Most Times Qualified

30, Mike Rowe (missed 1975, 1977, 1987, 2007)

Youngest winner

Tom Rosati, 19 (1979)

Oldest winner

Ralph Nason, 60 (2000)

Only woman to start

Karen Schulz, started and finished 42nd (1989)

Largest field

47 (1988)

Smallest field

36 (1978-1981)

Most pole positions

3, Junior Hanley (79, 82, 94)

2, Dave Dion (75, 76)

2, Morgan Shepherd (77, 78)

Winners from the pole position

Dave Dion (1975)

Geoff Bodine (1981)

Larry Gelinas (1996)

Gary Drew (2001)

Ben Rowe (2003)

Most last place finishes

2, Keith Cavanaugh (78, 84)

2, Jeff Stevens (88, 98)

Worst starting position for champion

37th, Mike Rowe (2005)

Most positions gained from start to finish

41st – 3rd, Matt Kenseth (2004)


1979 – postponed one week

1986 – held the next day

1991 – delayed, ran same day

Most Cautions

21 in 1997

Father/Son champions

Rowe, Mike (84, 97, 05) & Ben (03, 04)

Father/Son competitors

Allison, Bobby & Davey

Babb, Bob & Bobby

Babb, George & Jerry

Brackett, Tim and T.J.

Clark, Billy and Cassius

Cusack, Ralph & Glenn

Darveau, Dave Sr.& Dave Jr.

Demers, Dennis & Trampas

Dragon, Beaver & Brent

Drew, Homer & Gary

Fraser, Frank & Scott

Gerry, Bob and Brockie

Lynch, David & Derek

Maietta, Mike Sr. & Mike Jr.

Pressley, Bob & Robert

Ripley, Doug & Daren

Rowe, Mike, Ben & Tom

Shaw, Henry Jr. & Andy

Tripp, John & Bob

Brother competitors

Bodine, Brett, Geoff & Todd

Bouchard, Ken & Ron

Burton, Jeff & Ward

Busch, Kurt and Kyle

Dragon, Beaver & Bobby

Labonte, Bobby & Terry

Pinkham, David & Richard

Rosati, John & Tom

Rowe, Ben & Tom

Wallace, Kenny & Rusty

Grandfather/grandson competitors

Fadden, Stub & Olsen, Mike

St. Clair, Dave & Josh

1974 – History in the making

Al Grinnan leads the very first lap in Oxford 250 history.

1975 – What’s your price?

Dwayne “Tiny” Lund starts the race by buying a starting position from a previously qualified driver. Lund starts at the rear, 37th position, and finishes 22nd.

1976 – Bicentennial bash

Butch Lindley beats Maine’s Ralph Nason in a result that’s still disputed by some to this day.

1978 – Makin’ it look easy

Bob Pressley leads 213 laps en route to victory.

1979 – Where’s Junior?

Junior Hanley qualifies on the pole, but does not compete. Hanley was unable to make the show after the race was rained out and rescheduled for the following week.

1981 – Show me the money

Lap money is offered for the first time in the race’s history.

1982 – Don’t you forget about me

Mike Barry comes back after being a lap down to win.

1984 – Lucky 6

Mike Rowe becomes the only driver to win with a V-6 under the hood. Chuck Bown was the first to qualify with the engine in 1983, he finished 22nd.

1984 – Who’s In Front?

The race featured 17 lead changes between Geoff Bodine, Robbie Crouch, Morgan Shepherd Dick McCabe and race winner Mike Rowe.

1985 – The one that counts

Dave Dion wins by leading only the final lap.

He Ain’t Heavy…

The Dragon Brothers, Beaver & Bobby, competed in the same TD Banknorth 250 ten times. (74, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 83, 84, 85)

1989 – Movin’ on up

Ricky Craven finishes sixth after starting 43rd.

1989 – Generation Gap

Stub Fadden and Mike Olsen become the only grandfather and grandson to qualify for the race. Stub finished 25th, Mike 17th.

1991 – On his way

Ricky Craven, future NASCAR Cup and Busch Series Rookie of the Year, wins his home state’s biggest race.

1992 – Glad he came

Dave Dion gets a phone call from track owner Michael Liberty, encouraging him to end his boycott of NASCAR and compete in the 250. Dion shows up and holds off Dale Shaw to become the first three-time winner.

1993 through 1995 – Oh, Canada

Junior Hanley, Derek Lynch and Dave Whitlock take the big prize north of the border, when the race was sanctioned by ACT.

1996 – Larry Who?

Relative unknown Larry Gelinas wins the pole, then wins the race when rookie Ben Rowe runs out of gas with two laps remaining.

1998 through 2000 – King Ralph

Ralph Nason is the first driver to win three consecutive 250s.

2001 and 2002 – Home field advantage

Gary Drew and Scott Robbins give victory lane a local flavor.

2003 – Front Rowe

Ben Rowe starts on the pole, alongside his father and two-time champion, Mike Rowe. Ben won the event with Mike placing fourth.

2004 – Nextel Cup Invasion

Defending Nextel Cup champion Matt Kenseth and Cup superstar Kurt Busch compete in the TD Banknorth 250. Kenseth placed third, Busch 13th.

2005 – They’re back

Kenseth announces his intentions to return to the TD Banknorth 250 along with Busch’s younger brother, Nextel Cup rookie Kyle Busch.

2005 – Worst to first

Mike Rowe cannot win the provisional starting spot for most recent race champion, meaning that he needs to win the 50-lap last chance race just to start 37th in the main event. He becomes the first driver in 250 history to win the non-qualifiers’ event and the grand finale.

2006 – Family affair

Jeremie and Bill Whorff becoming the first son-father combo to run one-two in the 250, leading a field that includes NASCAR stars Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin, Ricky Craven and J.J. Yeley.

2007 – Roger Dodger

“Rocket” Roger Brown tops a staggering field of 97 entries to win the first TD Banknorth 250 under the late model rules package.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

Daily Headlines

  • Sign up and get the top stories to begin the day delivered to your inbox at 6 a.m.