SKOWHEGAN – Cony High School won the 2009 team bowling state championship held Saturday at Central Maine Family Fun Bowling Center.

Cony entered the tournament as the No. 1 seed from the outhern conference and defeated Central High, 3-1, in Baker Match Play in the quarterfinals.

In the other quarterfinals, Northern No. 1 Skowhegan beat Winslow, 3-2, Messalonskee defeated Madison, 3-1, and Lewiston defeated Hermon, 3-1.

In the semifinals, Skowhegan had a 3-2 win over Messalonskee, while Cony beat Lewiston 3-1 to advance. Cony’s team of Chase Marquis, Eddie Donnell Jr., Travis Allen, Joey Guimond and Stephan Babb swept Skowhegan 3-0 to claim the title.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.