AUGUSTA — Recipients of the 2008 Spirit of America Foundation Awards for outstanding volunteerism from 31 honoring Maine municipalities were recognized during a May 22 ceremony at University of Maine, Augusta.
Local honoring municipality and those recognized during the statewide event were: 
Fayette: Marjie Bruen, Richard and Laurette Darling, Jane Rocque, Gloria Tillson, Elaine Wilcox, Cindy Lee, Suzanne Rich.
Litchfield: Muriel Bonin, George Byras, Rod Chaput, Pauline Chase, Barbara Clements, Keith Estabrook, Trudy Lamoreau, David Larrabee, Litchfield Senior Center, Isaiah Mills, Lisa Pushard-Hart, Pat Soboleski, Sharon Spring, George Thomson.
Manchester: Lendall Dudley, J & S Oil Co. Family Fun Day, Brad Hewey, Mark Johnston, Longfellow’s Greenhouses Family Fall Festival.
Monmouth: Bruce Balfour, Maurice Ball, Rod Bubier, Mike Costello, Tom Gregor, Mike Hallowell, Joe Hanson, Don Kinney, Ken McDonald, Ben Smith, Burleigh Smith and Herb Whittier.
Mt. Vernon: Community Center board of trustees.
New Portland: Judi Wills, Marilyn Gorman, Diane Pease, Petrina Bearor, Jane Heichel, Stephanie and Andy Campbell, Jessi Campbell, Bonnie Atwood, Andrea Reichert, Lori Agren, Heidi Tolman, Charlene Belanger, Ken Williams, Janet White, Maynard and Terry Handrahan, Michelle Abbott, Niki Atwood, Wayne Rundlett, Stacy and Brian Rundlett.
Readfield: Margaret Bourget, Maranacook area schools, Kathy Schulz, Marjorie Tyler.
Rome: Pine Tree Camp.
Vienna: Creston Gaither, Waine Whittier, Alan Williams.
Winthrop: Phil Locashio, Margaret and Phil Marston, Carole and Norm Ricker, Payson Tucker Hose Co., Winthrop Area People for Peace.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.