PORTLAND — One hundred thirty Maine high school students have been chosen as 2009 Mitchell Scholars by the Sen. George J. Mitchell Scholarship Research Institute. 
With the selection of this year’s scholarship recipients, the institute has supported 1,650 Maine students in their pursuit of higher education by awarding more than $7 million in financial assistance. 
The scholarships are awarded on the basis of academic potential, community service and financial need. They average $5,000 each, dispersed in increments of $1,250 for up to four years.
For more information about the Mitchell Institute, visit www.mitchellinstitute.org.
Local Mitchell Scholars are as follows:
Dustin Ambrose, Lewiston High School.
Brittney Bell, Poland Regional High School.
Sonya Catlin, Oak Hill High School, Wales.
Mathew Hardison, Lisbon High School.
Hailey Hemminger, Livermore Falls High School.
Katelyn Kirk, Leavitt Area High School, Turner.
Gregory St. Denis, Edward Little High School, Auburn.
Alysia Doherty, Lake Region High School, Naples.
Cody Humphrey, Gray-New Gloucester High School.
Jennifer Calden, Jay High School.
Emma James, Mt. Abram High School, Salem.
Samantha Olivieri, Rangeley High School.
Christopher Reynolds, Mt. Blue High School, Farmington.
Travis Elliot, Maranacook Community High School, Readfield.
Kevin Leavitt, Winthrop High School.
Stephanie Spencer, Monmouth Academy.
Rachel Bukoveckas, Sacopee Valley High School.
Anna Chase, Dirigo High School, Dixfield.
Kiley Clement, Mountain Valley High School, Rumford.
Patrick Gallagher, Telstar High School, Bethel.
Abby Jones, Buckfield High School.
Cherith Reyes, Oxford Hills Comprehensive High School, South Paris.
Jesse Sawin, Fryeburg Academy.
Bryan Bascom, Richmond High School.
Claire Jamison, Mt. Ararat High School, Topsham.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.