ELLSWORTH — The Pearl Starbird Fund of the Maine Community Foundation has awarded $80,000 in scholarships to 24 students, all graduates of Oxford County high schools or Lake Region High School. They will receive financial support for their education in music or the arts.

First-time scholarship recipients are Fryeburg Academy graduates Tyler Arnold, Yasmin Azel, and Daniel Rounds; Lake Region High School graduate Amanda Blake; Oxford Hills High School graduate Sarah Brown; and Telstar Regional High School graduate Katharine MacGregor.

Renewal scholarships went to Arika Baker, Lynn Hazelton, and Timothy Maurice of Oxford; Corinne Cahill of Denmark; Thomas Dowling, Heather Hastings, Ashley Iwans, and Meagan Littlewood of Norway; Seth Fogg of South Paris; Julia Handspicker of Bridgton; Justin Kimball of Harrison; Timothy Lee of Kingfield; Grace Makley of West Paris; Nolan Mercer of Naples; Brandon Pike and Jessica Smith of Waterford; Sarah Swain of Lovell; and Aaron Tripp of Center Lovell.

The recipients’ programs of study include music performance, electronic game and interactive development, photography, printmaking, fashion design, music education, animation and illustration.

The application deadline for the 2010 Pearl Starbird Scholarship is May 15, 2010. Applications will be available in January at high school guidance offices and at www.mainecf.org.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.