LEWISTON — The Clark F. Miller School of Radiologic Technology at Central Maine Medical Center recently graduated 13 radiologic technology students.

At its 66th commencement exercises, the School of Radiologic Technology graduated students who have completed the school’s accredited 23-month course that emphasizes classroom and clinical training.

Graduates included:

Christopher Bailey, Belgrade; Alyson Banks, Lewiston; April Benner, Bowdoin; Kristen Blais, Rumford; Candice Carpentier, Wiscasset; Kayla Collet, Lewiston; Frank Dinsmore, Jefferson; Sarah Emmons, Lewiston; Melissa Harvey, Dixfield; Kayla Howard, Salem; Shawna Nowinski, Gray; Katelyn Thurston, Fryeburg; and Danielle White, Gardiner.

The radiologic technology graduates are eligible to take the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists examination in radiography. Students passing the exam become nationally certified radiologic technologists. The 13 students also completed Central Maine Community College’s requirements for associate of applied science degrees, which they were awarded in May.

Given special recognition at the ceremony were Melissa Harvey and Shawna Nowinski, who were presented with the Clark F. Miller Award for Outstanding Scholastic Achievement. The award goes to the student having the highest overall grade-point average.


Candice Carpentier was awarded the Clark F. Miller Award for Clinical Excellence that is given to the student with the highest clinical scores.

The Miller awards are named for the founder of Maine’s first radiologic technology school, which was established at CMMC in 1949.

Carpentier was presented the Central Maine Medical Center Student Leadership Award, which is given to the student who demonstrates exceptional leadership abilities in the classroom, in clinical settings and with underclassmen. The winner of the award is determined by a vote of fellow students and the school’s faculty.

Carpentier was also presented the Central Maine Medical Center Award of Excellence, which is given to the student who has contributed the most to the Radiology and Medical Imaging Department during his or her education at CMMC. Each member of the department is eligible to vote for the person they feel should receive the award. The student selected to receive the award is the individual who others feel has displayed the greatest dedication to the department and to the profession of radiologic technology.

Promoted to seniors during the ceremony were: Brittany Hamlin, Clinton; Amanda LaCroix, Benton; Renee Lefebvre, Chepachet, R.I.; Tiffany Lougee, Harmony; Rylan McAdam, East Millinocket; Kassidy McManus, Lewiston; Nichole Michaud, Greene; Ashley Miller, Jefferson; Danielle Potvin, Sabattus; Bethany Stoddard, Pittston; Kornnapa St. Pierre, Lewiston; and Britnee Ward, Lisbon.

The CMMC School of Radiologic Technology program has graduated 390 students since its establishment in 1949.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.