Oxford Plains Speedway welcomed a first-time visitor to victory lane Sunday afternoon, with Quinny Welch of Lancaster, N.H., surviving a wild Budweiser Pro Late Model feature for his breakthrough win at the track.

Welch, a frequent winner at multiple tracks closer to home, held off the charge of Peru’s Gary Chiasson and Buckfield’s Tim Brackett for the 50-lap victory.

Shawn Martin and Adam Polvinen completed the top five. Justin Drake led for more than 30 laps before fading to sixth. Thirty-one cars started the main event.

Six divisions took the green flag under brilliant blue skies and the warmest temperatures of the season to date.

Ryan Hewins of Leeds won the Street Stock feature, holding off a pack of drivers that included his uncle, Kyle. Josh Childs edged Kyle Hewins for second, followed by Spencer Morse and Matt Williams.

Frank Wear took home the Outlaw Sportsman checkers. Troy Jordan was second with Guy Childs, Steve Moon and Jerry Freve in tow.

Jamie Heath topped a field of five in the first-ever feature for bone-stock Bandit cars. Randy Henderson held down the runner-up slot ahead of Derek Cairns.

Two of the Pro All Stars Series’ main support divisions also saw action.

J.R. Baril won the Modified main, denying a challenge by rookie and 2013 OPS Street Stock champion Ryan Robbins. Doug McClure was third. And Rusty Poland kept Joey Pastore and Nathan Leavitt at bay to win the Sportsman sprint.

King cruises at Beech Ridge

Tyler King of Livermore Falls dominated the 50-lap NASCAR Pro Series feature Saturday night at Beech Ridge Motor Speedway.

One week after dropping out of the season-opener with motor problems, King won his heat and took the lead three laps into the main event.

King staved off modest challenges throughout the race from Mike Landry, Kelly Moore, Dave Farrington, Don Colpritt and Dan McKeage for his second career win.

McKeage and Colpritt, each a past champion at the speedway, were second and third, followed by Moore and opening-night winner Corey Bubar. Farrington, of Jay, finished seventh in the 24-car field.

In other action, Brian Caswell became the first BRMS driver since 2010 to win back-to-back features at the start of a season, scoring the Wildcat victory. Caswell held off teammate Gary Babineau for the win, followed by Lewis Anderson, David Vaughn and Mac Hannan Jr.

Frank Wear won the Sport Series feature, keeping Rob Herrick and Dave Langlois in his rear-view mirror on a green-white-checkered restart. Wear won for the second time in three starts, dating back to the end of the 2013 campaign.

Prindall stays perfect

Lisbon’s Jeff Prindall charged from the rear of the field twice to win the New England 4-Cylinder Pro Stock feature Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway, making the division point leader 4-for-4 on the season.

Prindall started eighth. He took the lead from Ryan Hayes on lap 14 before losing control of his Ford and spinning on the next circuit, bringing out the caution flag.

“The car was really tight after an altercation during the heat,” Prindall said in a press release. “It did loosen up as the race went on, and we did pretty well. Ryan Hayes gave me a run for my money. It was fun racing him side-by-side.”

Using a variety of power moves through the pack, Prindall recovered and reclaimed the lead with 11 laps remaining in the 35-lap special.

Kamren Knowles and Jerry Bailey fought past Hayes over the closing laps to finish second and third, respectively.

Bill Penfold of Oxford picked up his third Pro Stock victory of the spring. Penfold took the lead from Chesterville’s Joe Decker on a lap 13 restart. Mike Orr edged Decker for second in the 30-lap event, followed by Maggie Ferland of Auburn.

Other winners were Mike Mason in Outlaw Mini, James Osmond in Super Street and Mark Lucas in Modified. Local drivers Ryan Glover (Mexico, second), Calvin Rose Jr. (Turner, fourth) and George Fortin (Greene, fifth) also challenged in the Outlaw Mini encounter.

Shaw is king of Mountain

D.J. Shaw remains unstoppable in the Pro All Stars Series.

The third-generation driver from Center Conway, N.H., won his third consecutive PASS North race and his fourth overall victory this season Saturday night, claiming the checkered flag in the Littleton Chevrolet 150 at White Mountain Motorsports Park in North Woodstock, N.H.

Shaw first took the lead from Jeremy Davis on lap 90 after early leaders Glen Luce of Turner and Richie Dearborn of Hollis tangled at the halfway lap, with Dearborn’s car crashing on its side against the retaining wall.

Farmingdale’s Johnny Clark forged ahead on a lap 100 restart, but Shaw reeled him in and claimed the top spot for good 10 circuits later.

Joey Polewarczyk Jr., Mike Rowe and Davis completed the top five. Travis Stearns of Auburn was ninth, Luce 11th, Ben Rowe of Turner 20th and Cassius Clark of Farmington 21st in the 24-car rundown.

Luce, Stearns and Polewarczyk won the qualifying heats.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: