EVANSTON, Ill. — The National Merit Scholarship Corp. has announced the names of about 16,000 scholarship semifinalists. These talented high school seniors can continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth about $33 million that will be offered next spring. 

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.

Fryeburg Academy: Andre L. LaMountain, Josephine Zvelebilova

Lewiston High School: Julian Smedley

Monmouth Academy: Jordyn L. Mann

Leavitt Area High School in Turner: Harrison T. Knowlton

Winthrop High School: Teresa Easterbrooks

filed under: