Fifteen outstanding young people from Maine are the recipients of the Maine State Golf Association’s annual scholarships.

These scholarships have been awarded since 1950, making it the 66th year that they have been given. Better yet, they are not one-and-done scholarships, meaning the recipients receive $1,500 a year for four years of college, if they are enrolling for their first semester next fall. If they already are in college, they receive that amount for the remainder of their undergraduate four years.

“We are very proud of this,” Nancy Storey, executive director of the MSGA, said. “We are one of the non-profit scholarships in the state and we have given these scholarships to students from all over the state, literally covering the whole state.”

This year’s group includes:

Christopher Billings of Topsham, winner of the Davis Richardson Scholarship, named after the late MSGA Tournament Director, who lived for many years in Lewiston and owned and operated a grocery store. Alexander Spiller of Wndham is the Andy Lane Award winner to a New England senior. Jakob Harris of Portland won the Rock Labbe Award. If the name “Harris,” is familiar to you, Jakob is the grandson of Dick Harris of Harris Golf.

Christoper Decker of Westbrook won the Dr. Winchenbach Award for top scholars, which earned him an extra $1,000 scholarship. Among the recipients also is Daulton Wickenden of Rockport, the 2016 Maine Collegiate golf champion. Wickenden, who plays for Husson, took that title by seven strokes, as his team finished as runner-up in the tournament played last September at Fairlawn.

The remainder of the 15 recipients are: Elizabeth Day of Brunswick; Ross DeLorenzo of Unity; Alex Fritz or Morrill; Alex Greener of Winslow; Benjamin Lord of Brunswick; Tyler O’Connor of Bowdoinham; Chad Prince of West Gardiner; Jacob Small of North Yarmouth; Julian Starbird of Hope, and Chance Wittemore of Skowhegan.

Menne, Darling doing just fine

Poland Spring pro Allan Menne and Fox Ridge’s Bob Darling continue to play extremely well in Maine Chapter New England PGA competition, as evidenced by the May 31 Pro-Am at Purpoodock.

In best ball gross, Darling teamed with Colby Gilbert, Cameron Letourneau and Cameron Marquis (33-32–65 -6) to finish first. Tied for second was Norway’s Scott Mann, whose team included Dave Whitman, George Townsend,and Tamlyn Frederick (35-32–67 -4).

In best ball net, Menne’s group of Steve Berry, Dan Bouttnot and Michael Zayden was first (29-30–59 -12). Second was the First Tee of Maine foursome headed by executive director Ron Bibeau with Pat Donahue, Joe Nappi and Chris Nappi (31-30–61 -10). Tied for fifth was the Martindale group led by pro Nick Glicos with Steve Reid, Matt McDonald and Kyle Gilman (28-34–61 -9).

In individual pro, Kyle Bourassa of Martindale was first (37-35–72 +1) with Darling tied for third (36-39–75 +4) along with David Bartasius of Fairlawn (38-37–75 +4).

MSGA heads to Sable Oaks

The MSGA will conduct its regular weekly tournaments June 10-11 at Sable Oaks.

On June 7, the annual Senior Four-Ball, one of the MSGA’s championship events, will be at Cape Arundel. Traditionally, that tournament has been at Poland Spring, but in an MSGA survey, results showed that the membership likes the idea of having the site moved around the state. So MSGA seniors should look forward to different venues in other parts of Maine during upcoming years.

The MSGA’s Junior Tour, which cannot begin until schools are closed for the summer, will begin at the end of June with a “triple-header,” meaning three consecutive days of golf tournaments. The season opens June 28 at Biddeford-Saco, continues June 29 at Belgrade Lakes, and completes the “trifecta” June 30 at The Woodlands.

Amateur championships deadlines

A reminder for players who want to enter the Maine and New England Amateur championships, the entry deadline for both rapidly is approaching … Fox Ridge is having a special ($39 with cart) for players who show up at the course with a perishable food donation for The Good Shepherd Bank. This is good all day Monday through Thursday, and Friday through Sunday afternoon. It expires June 15.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or to participate in the conversation. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: