Three-time track champion Tim Brackett earned his second Super Late Model win of the season Saturday night, ending a streak of 13 different winners at Oxford Plains Speedway.

Brackett, of Buckfield, started 10th on the 20-car grid and quickly wheeled his way into contention behind early leader Shawn Knight and Hebron veteran Alan Wilson. Brackett drove around the outside of Knight to take command at lap 35 and drove away to claim his second victory since May 21.

Wilson got past Knight to secure runner-up honors, while Knight settled for third. Third-generation driver Gunnar Rowe of Turner put in a solid effort to finish fourth, with two-time champion (2013-14) TJ Brackett rounding out the top five.

Unofficially, Brackett reclaimed the points lead over Dixfield veteran Scott Robbins, who finished ninth on Saturday. Robbins had led by a single point going in to the night’s program. Only four points races remain on the 2016 schedule at Oxford.

Calvin Rose Jr. of Turner notched his fourth victory of the season in a 30-lap tilt for the Street Stock class. The former Mini Stock standout edged Matt Dufault by a mere .037 of a second to earn top honors in a finish that only electronic timing and scoring could verify. David Whittier filled out the podium in third, while young Jonathan Emerson of Sabattus and Lisbon’s Richard Spaulding completed the top five.

Charlie Hall of Oxford did an amazing stroke of business in the Bandit feature, holding off perennial strongman Jamie Heath of Waterford to earn his first feature victory. Hall led every lap and managed to keep a hard-charging Heath at bay during the closing laps. Points contender Tyler Green of Turner stayed in the hunt with a third-place finish, while Josh Knoll and Jacob Hall finished fourth and fifth, respectively.


In Figure 8 action Saturday, South Paris veteran David Smith outran Lewiston’s Jon Lizotte to add another trophy to his already-overflowing display case. Recent winner Kyle Kilgore put in a solid effort to finish third, while Lisbon’s Robert Morey crossed the stripe in fourth.

Babb earns ACT 100 win at Beech Ridge

Windham native Brad Babb drove underneath Eddie MacDonald going into Turn 3 on lap 61 and went on to win the Coastal 100 for American-Canadian Tour (ACT) Late Models on Saturday night at the Beech Ridge Motor Speedway in Scarborough.

MacDonald led the race on two occasions for a total of 55 laps. He was attempting to go around the outside of Bryan Mason when Mason’s car slipped up the track, allowing Babb to dart by on the bottom. MacDonald settled for second, while ACT veteran Scott Payea drove from 11th to third.

Nick Sweet of Barre, Vermont, started third and finished fourth. Multi-time ACT champion Wayne Helliwell Jr. completed the top five. Only two cautions slowed the pace, and only nine of the 25 starters finished on the lead lap.

Jay native and 2014 Beech Ridge champion Dave Farrington Jr. pulled double duty Saturday, finishing ninth in the ACT 100 along with running the weekly NASCAR Pro Series feature. Mike Ziter, Sweet and Helliwell won the ACT qualifying heats.


Reid Lanpher of Manchester prevailed in the 40-lap Pro Series feature on Saturday. The reigning class champion had to survive three restarts to notch his first victory in nearly a year.

John Peters of Westbrook got his 2016 turned around in a big way, finishing second to Lanpher in the Runtal Radiator No. 51 entry. Peters struggled through mechanical issues early this season yet stayed focused.

Waterboro veteran Curtis Gerry continued his strong season with a third-place run, while two-time PASS winner Garrett Hall and Don Colpritt Jr. rounded out the top five. Brandon Barker, Robbie Harrison, former Oxford 250 winner Larry Gelinas, recent winner Dan Mckeage (July 16) and Justin Drake (who won on June 18) completed the top 10 on ACT night at Beech Ridge.

Nick Campbell of Arundel returned to Victory Lane on Saturday with a brilliant drive in the 35-lap Sport Series battle. Campbell outgunned Phil Pinkham and Sally Gherardi to claim his second win in just three weeks. Recent winner Frank Wear (July 30) and Dave Langlais (winner on June 4) completed the top five.

Cole Watson notched his second victory of the season in a 30-lap tussle for the Wildcat division. The veteran from Naples held off Chaz Briggs and the previous week’s winner, Kristina Nadeau, for top honors, with Briggs a close half-second back in the runner-up position. Nadeau’s strong effort backed up her career-first victory and proved she has indeed become a true contender.

Travis Burrows crossed the stripe in fourth, and Ed Pierce finished fifth in his Wildcat debut.


St. Clair brothers rule at Wiscasset

It’s a name synonymous with the mid-coast track so many have loved for years. Brothers Josh and Ryan St. Clair are keeping a family legacy alive, and both earned Late Model division victories Saturday night at Wiscasset Speedway. 

Josh started 13th on the 22-car grid in the regular 35-lap feature. The third-generation driver from Liberty took command at lap 11, after the event’s only restart, and pulled away to post his second win of the season. 

Shane Clark crossed the stripe in second but was disqualified following post-race technical inspection. Ryan St. Clair was awarded runner-up honors, while Coastal 200 winner Chris Thorne of Sidney advanced to third. Nick Hinkley (Wiscasset) and Dave St. Clair (Josh and Ryan’s grandfather) of Liberty completed the top five.

Ryan St. Clair had his moment to shine in a special 25-lap “Dave’s World” Dash For Cash non-points race. The younger brother took the lead from Danny Smart after just one lap and cruised home to a $500 payday in a race created by his grandfather back when he owned the speedway. 

Other feature winners at Wiscasset on Saturday evening include Leeds veteran Kurt Hewins (Super Street, pending engine inspection); Joe Williams, of Woolwich (NAPA Modifieds); and Zach Audet, of Skowhegan (Outlaw Minis). 

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.