WATERVILLE — Mike Burgess, of Bridgton Academy; Rianna Roewer, of Edward Little High School; Vanessa Smith, of Leavitt Area High School; Halima Aden, of Lewiston High School; Damara Chesley, of Lisbon High School; Gina Schultz, of Monmouth Academy; MaKenzie LeBlanc, of Oak Hill High School; Jake Wiseman, of Poland Regional High School; Brooke Tracy, of Spruce Mountain High School; and James Cheleuitte, of St. Dominic Academy, were all recently awarded the Thomas College Dirigo Award.

The Dirigo Award is a $2,500 per year scholarship for up to four years of undergraduate study at Thomas College. This is in addition to other scholarships the student may have received from Thomas.

The Dirigo Award is an award that recognizes one student from each Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont high school, technology center, or community college that exemplifies leadership in their school and community. Recipients are nominated by their guidance or career office on behalf of the school.

These students are among the 180 recipients throughout Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: