The three Fitzpatrick Trophy finalists will have to wait another week to find out who will be chosen as Maine’s top high school senior football player.

Bonny Eagle’s Zach Maturo wends his way through the pack and over the Thornton Academy goal line during a game last fall. Adam Birt/American Journal Buy this Photo

Because of a snowstorm expected to linger into Sunday morning, Fitzpatrick Trophy committee chairman Jack Dawson decided to postpone the banquet until Sunday, Jan. 26.

The event, now in its 49th year, be held at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland, starting at noon. This is the second consecutive year that weather has caused a week’s delay.

The finalists are Marshwood fullback/linebacker Justin Bryant and running back/cornerbacks Jarett Flaker of Scarborough and Zach Maturo of Bonny Eagle.

The Fitzpatrick Trophy is awarded to the top senior high school football in Maine.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.

filed under: