LEWISTON — Voters elected a new slate of city councilors Tuesday, with only two incumbents returning for the 2022 term.

Linda Scott, Robert McCarthy, Scott Harriman, Ricky LaChapelle, Larry Pease, Lee Clement and Stephanie Gelinas will make up the new City Council in 2022.

Scott, the former School Committee chair, defeated Dane Morgan for the Ward 1 seat by a tally of 649 to 223. In Ward 2, McCarthy beat Caleb Roebuck 889 to 728.

Roebuck has been serving on the council since September, when he was appointed to replace Zack Pettengill, who resigned. At the time, the council was split on whether to appoint a current candidate for the seat, but was hamstrung with applicants who were not eligible.

Wednesday morning, Roebuck posted a statement to his campaign Facebook page, stating, “Well things didn’t go the way we wanted. We ran a hard fought, positive campaign and came up just short. It was the closest race in the city this year. I spent the entire day with my opponent and victor yesterday. While we may disagree on some issues, he has a genuine passion and care for the city and will work hard for the people of Ward 2. I will still be on the City Council through January and will continue to do my best to serve all of my constituents.”

McCarthy told the Sun Journal last month that the most critical issue facing Lewiston is affordable housing, with “economic opportunity a close second.”


In Wards 3 and 4, Harriman and LaChapelle ran unopposed for the seats.

Harriman will replace Councilor Alicia Rea, who did not run for reelection. A self-employed landlord, Harriman said in his Sun Journal candidate profile that his focus would be on schools and affordable housing.

LaChapelle will replace Council President Michel Lajoie in Ward 4, who also did not seek reelection. LaChapelle told the Sun Journal that he’d like to focus on Lewiston’s tax rate and divisiveness in local politics.

Pease, with 179 votes, beat out Amy Clark Sanchez, 147, and Charles Soule, 93, for the Ward 5 seat. Pease is a former School Committee member. The seat is currently held by Jama Mohamed, who is serving only three months following the resignation of Luke Jensen.

Both Clement and Gelinas, the Ward 6 and 7 councilors, respectively, were reelected after running unopposed. The pair represent the only sitting councilors who will return in 2022.

The total turnout for Lewiston on Tuesday was 8,111, or 28%, higher than 2019’s turnout of 22%.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.