POLAND — Voters Tuesday approved the creation of a charter commission by a vote of 271 to 161.

Because of that decision voters also elected six members to the new charter commission:

Arthur Berry, Walter Gallagher, Barbara Merrill, Suzette Moulton, James Porter and James Walker were named to the commission.

The Town Council proposed forming the charter commission to see if the public wishes to switch to a referendum-style annual town meeting to be held concurrently with the state primary election in June or on the first Tuesday in June if no state election takes place.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.