Oxford Plains Speedway will host the 49th annual running of the Oxford 250 on Sunday. On Thursday, the trophies were on display. Daryn Slover/Sun Journal

During its previous 48 editions, the Oxford 250 — originally the Oxford 200 — has drawn in racers from all over the country.

However, drivers right in Oxford Plains Speedway’s backyard and surrounding towns also have been trying to capture the checkered flag — and sizeable winner’s check — since the race’s inception.

This year, there are 22 drivers from the Sun Journal’s coverage area — representing 14 different hometowns — among the 69 entrants trying to find a spot the 40-plus-car starting grid for Sunday’s feature race.

There are four previous Oxford 250 winners — two-time champ Ben Rowe (from Turner), 2002 winner Scott Robbins (Dixfield), 2015 winner Glen Luce (Turner), and defending champ Cassius Clark (Farmington).

Nine different Oxford Plains Speedway major track champions are looking to make the field, including Rowe and Robbins. Nine-time track champ Jeff Taylor (Farmington) is still looking for his first 250 win, as are four-time champ Tim Brackett and his son, two-time champion son TJ Brackett, both of Buckfield. Oxford’s own Dennis Spencer Jr. has lifted season championship trophies, but not the Oxford 250 winner’s trophy. In fact, no Oxford native has won the hometown hardware.

Two-time defending Oxford Plains Super Late Model season champion Dave Farrington Jr. (formerly of Jay, now living in Sabattus) is looking to add a 250 crown to his trophy case. Tracy Gordon (Strong) and Jeff White (Winthrop) have also bested the best at Oxford Plains throughout individual seasons, but not in the biggest race of the year.


Gordon, like Taylor, have been painstakingly close to winning the 250 in the past, but the checkered flag has eluded them.

Kyle DeSouza (Turner) and Austin Teras (Gray) have each won in weekly SLM action at the track this year, and DeSouza and fellow Turner native Calvin Rose Jr. have been among the top drivers in the division over the past couple years.

Kyle DeSouza (1), Calvin Rose Jr. (8) and Dave Farrington Jr. (23) race down the frontstretch at Oxford Plains Speedway during Super Late Model action on Aug. 6. Oriana Lovell photo

Ryan Robbins (Dixfield), Skip Stanley (Buckfield) and Justin Larsen (Peru) have made frequent stops in the SLM division this season, while Scott McDaniel (Livermore), Dillon Moltz (New Sharon) and Evan Beaulieu (Durham) have each been competing on the Pro All Stars Series North tour.

Turner’s Anthony Constantino has picked his spots in his SLM car this year, and Hebron’s Adam Polvinen will be looking to make his second start of the year at Oxford Plains.

Related Headlines

Comments are no longer available on this story

filed under: