CAMDEN — The Maine Director of the Hobey Baker High School Character Award announced 47 state-wide winners in high school ice hockey.

Each year, a single senior hockey player from each participating high school is selected by his or her coach and celebrated by teammates, the school, and the community for outstanding individual performance on and off the ice. Established in 2003, the award honors high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that “Character Builds Excellence.” The Hobey Baker committee believes that character makes the game better and makes our players better.  Candidates for the High School Hobey Baker Award are selected by their coaches, based on coachability, strength of character, integrity, commitment, teamwork, community leadership, and outstanding sportsmanship.

“The Hobey Baker High School Character Award recognizes character, commitment, and love of the game,” said Vin Contento, Maine Director of the Hobey Baker High School Character Award. “I am proud to announce the 47 Maine recipients of this year’s award.” Hobey Baker not only excelled in hockey but in football as well at the collegiate level. He had a tradition of making his way to his opponent’s locker room to shake their hands after each contest. He despised dirty play and was penalized only twice in his college career. “While Hobey Baker was a legendary athlete, he was also a true gentleman. It’s important to recognize the same values and traits in these high school athletes and not just their on-ice abilities”, Contento said.

Among the winners announced today were 16 girls and 31 boys from participating high school varsity teams across the state.

2022-23 Hobey Baker High School Character Award Winners



Mackenzie Day, Biddeford/Thornton Academy/Wells/Sanford; Hannah Wilkoff, Brunswick; Reilly Eavenson, Cape Elizabeth/Waynflete/South Portland; Elle Cooney, Cheverus/Old Orchard/Kennebunk/Windham; Emerson Roy, Falmouth/Scarborough; Ellie Keil, Gorham/Bonny Eagle/Massabesic/Fryeberg/Lake Region; Maddie Singer, Greely/Gray-New Gloucester; Emily Quinell, Edward Little/Leavitt/Poland.

Alyssa Marcoux, Lewiston; Mallory Stuart, Mt. Ararat/Lisbon/Morse/Lincoln/Oceanside/Boothbay; Elizabeth Littell, Portland/Deering; Kylie Boardman, Winslow/Gardiner/Cony/Messalonskee/Lawrence/Erskine/Maranacook/Mt. Blue; Kate Tracy, Yarmouth/ Freeport; Quinn McPherson, York/Traip Academy/Marshwood/ Noble; Maddie Weymouth, St. Dominic Academy/Winthrop/Monmouth; Emma McNeil, Brewer/Bangor/Hampden/Hermon/John Bapst/Old Town/Orono.


Michael McLean, Bangor; Jamie Sperlich, Biddeford/Old Orchard Beach/Massabesic; Jed Gilpatrick, Brewer/Lawrence; Luke Patterson, Brunswick; Lucas Wyman, Camden Hills; Luke Mello, Cape Elizabeth; Ethan St. Pierre, Cheverus/Yarmouth; Ethan Cross, Cony/Monmouth/Erskine/Hall-Dale/Winthrop; Gage Ducharme, Edward Little; Sam Belliveau, Falmouth; Jared Newgard, Gardiner/Waterville/Winslow; Jasper Crane, Gorham; Teddy Conway, Greely; Adrian Webb, Hampden Academy; Dawson Cole, Houlton/Hodgdon/Katahdin; Aiden Dunn, John Bapst/Hermon/Bangor Christian/Deer Isle-Stonington; Finn Connor, Kennebunk/Wells.

Caleb Micklon, Lakes Region/Fryeburg Academy/Oxford Hills; Ben Cloutier, Lewiston; Andrew Brayne, Marshwood/Noble/Traip/Sanford; Bryce Crowell, Messalonskee; Jonathan Hole, Mt. Ararat/Lisbon/Morse/Hyde; Ian Bouchard, Old Town/Orono; Michael Phillips, Poland/Leavitt/Gray-New Gloucester/ Oak Hill; Breygan Mahan, Presque Isle; Keegan Weed, Scarborough; Richie Gilboy, South Portland/Freeport/Wayneflete; Erik Jones, St. Dominic Academy; Lucas Hubbard, Thornton Academy; Isaac White, Windham/Westbrook/Bonny Eagle/ Sacopee; Tyler Conant, York.

Only subscribers are eligible to post comments. Please subscribe or login first for digital access. Here’s why.

Use the form below to reset your password. When you've submitted your account email, we will send an email with a reset code.